Stars from the East

Standard
Stars from the East
by Angela Roberge

Materials:
Less than 5 grams of waste yarn and needles to match
(The star in the photo was made with aran weight yarn and 3.5mm needles)

Gauge:
Gauge is unimportant to this project.
Pattern notes:
These stars can be made larger (perhaps for a pillow) or smaller (the star in photo is 1 1/2” across) by changing needle size or yarn weight, or by increasing or decreasing the number of stitches by intervals of 10 and adjusting the pattern accordingly.

Glossary:
DCD – Double Centre Decrease – Slip two stitches together as if to knit, K1, slip 2 slipped stitches over knit stitch
Instructions:
Cast on 65 stitches and join in the round.
Round 1 – K5, * DCD, K10, * repeat ** to last 8 stitches, DCD, K5 (55 stitches remain)
Round 2 – K4, * DCD, K8, * repeat ** to last 7 stitches, DCD, K4 (45 stitches remain)
Round 3 – K3, * DCD, K6, * repeat ** to last 6 stitches, DCD, K3 (35 stitches remain)
Round 4 – K2, * DCD, K4, * repeat ** to last 5 stitches, DCD, K2 (25 stitches remain)
Round 5 – K1, * DCD, K2, * repeat ** to last 4 stitches, DCD, K1 (15 stitches remain)
Round 6 – DCD 5 times (5 stitches remain)
Break yarn with 6” tail, thread through remaining stitches and pull tight.
Sew in ends.
A loop to hang this ornament can be made by chaining (with a crochet hook) the cast on yarn tail, then fastening the loose end back into the star.


Merry Christmas!

About Angela

My name is Angela, but I answer to Ang, Andrea, and Mommy. I am 42 years old, but somehow feel both 26 and 149. Sometimes at the same time. I love Jesus, but hate at least 2/3rds of the humans He created. I consider myself a good wife but a lousy housekeeper. I love being a mother but don’t particularly like children. Quality time and sarcasm are my Love Languages. Yes! You absolutely can drop by, provided you give me 15 minutes to panic-clean and put on pants. I know that 1 in every 33 births result in multiples. I know that gap narrows to 1 in 12 for subsequent pregnancies. I know this is why my tubes are cut, burned, and tied. Not today, Satan. I can recite the entire script of The Princess Bride, (including accents) and believe that the meaning of life is contained within. Birth stories, theDodo.com, and Soldiers-returning-home videos make me happy-ugly-cry. Being interrupted, a poorly made bed, and that Christmas Shoes song make me want to punch somebody. I’m an extrovert with crushing social anxiety. To deal with stress, I crack jokes. They will be awkward and make the situation 10x worse. I can whistle and hum at the same time, but I cannot touch my toes. I look grand in orange, red, and pink, but rubbish in yellow and blue. I am a writer. I have a dog named Henri. I have a brother named Adam. They are not related. I am slightly neurotic. No I’m not. Yes I am.

One response »

  1. Pingback: One Geek to Stitch Them All » Stash Busting Progress

Leave a comment