confession

Standard

So, I’ve been pretty concerned about nutrition with this pregnancy.

Even before finding out that I was carrying twins, I had started a fairly strict no wheat, no sugar, higher protein regime.

Not to lose weight, obviously, but to be proactive with things like gestational diabetes and hypertension.  I don’t have issues with either, but I want to give my spawn the best start possible.

That, and I was feeling a little guilty for not taking my vitamins leading up to the pregnancy.  Whoops.

The ‘diet’ went pretty well at first.  Protein shakes (protein powder, berries and spinach), beans, nuts and seeds were my main sources of protein.

I then found out I was having two.  Reading that the recommended amount of protein for a woman of my size was around 125 g protein/day, I added eggs and greek yogurt to my diet.

.

Then my body rebelled.

.

No longer could I drink the shakes.  The mere thought of eating them made me feel sick, let alone trying to down them.

Beans were a no go.  I could generally get them down without gagging, but they made me feel bloated and horrible.

Speaking with my nutritionist, it was suggested that, for the duration of my pregnancy, I should consider adding animal flesh.

As a vegetarian (sometimes vegan), who hasn’t touched meat (and hadn’t missed it) for over a decade, this was super-hard to hear.

I honestly believe that supporting the food industry by eating animals does a disservice, not only to the animals, but my health and the health of the planet.

I had no idea if I could even choke meat down.  How could that be any better than me up-chucking my protein shakes?

Feeling constantly tired and nauseated, however, I considered it.

.

I decided to start out with fish.

.

See, I’m one of those hypocritical vegetarians that places some animals’ lives above others.

Insects?  Doesn’t bother me.  I eat honey and I don’t particularly care if something is coloured with buggy corpses.  I’ve been bitten by too many black flies to shed a single tear.

Fish are slightly up on the list.  If I HAD to eat animals, they would be the first to go.

Didn’t work out, though.

The first few times, the salmon went down fine.

Then I started notice The Smell.

How could I possibly eat something that smelled so REVOLTING?

I tried slathering the carcass with sauce.

Didn’t work.

I didn’t actually throw up the fish, but it was a near thing.

So, no fish for me.

I felt good about the no-fish thing, actually.  It sort of validated the whole vegetarian choice.  Obviously, my body didn’t want it, right?

.

Then my husband came home with left-over chicken wings.

.

Can I just say:  I had never smelled anything so delicious in my life.

But what the heck did this mean?

My body doesn’t want healthy proteins but it wants chicken?

Are you frickin’ kidding me?

I mean, it has to mean something that I’m craving it, right?

That the thought of a chicken sandwich makes me morph into Pavlov’s dog?

Would I even be able to digest the stuff after obstaining for ten years?

.

Talking with friends didn’t help a whole lot.

Most of my friends are meat eaters and as such have no real concept of my particular ethical struggles.

One friend actually considers my vegetarianism more of an eating disorder than a lifestyle choice and is therefore thrilled that I was considering eating meat.  I was over coming my affliction, see?

Sigh.

Anyhow, after some serious thought, it boils down to this:

I will eat chicken, as long as my body wants it.

Pfft.

.

Stupid offspring.

I’ve already given you my freedom, my nights of sleep, my time and the integrity of the skin of my abdomen.

What more are you going to take from me?

Oh right.

My ethics.

.

And my sex life.

About Angela

My name is Angela. I am a 28 year old psych and criminology graduate, but I'd rather not diagnose you. I am a cuddle-slut. I can recite the entire script of The Princess Bride, (including accents) and believe that the meaning of life is contained within. Polyanna, Snap.com commercials, and Oprah 'reunion shows' make me cry. I can whistle and hum at the same time, but I cannot touch my toes. I am an expert in both listening and talking. I look good in orange. I am a writer. I kick ass in Gin, Hearts, and Cribbage but I don't understand Canasta or Bridge. I can be heard singing Broadway numbers from my shower, and have dressed up as a viking princess, (complete with aluminum foil breast plate) The Phantom of the Opera, and a Ghostbuster for Hallowe'en. I have a bird named Bean. I have a brother named Adam. They are not related. I like vanilla body lotion, peanut butter, saunas, Jim Carrey, broccoli, pets, TheOnion.com, Muppets, Kevin Smith, Corelle dishes, dry erase white-boards, Barenaked Ladies, Philosophy, the letter J, Harry Potter, picture frames, swimming, quilting, Michael Moore, genealogy, Raggedy Anne, tacky 50's tchotchke, 'Idiot's Complete Guide To' books, tweezers, feather pillows, polar dips, aquariums, Martin Luther King Jr., and Dr. Pepper. I don't like meat, gossips, cooked carrots, American Idol, mosquitoes, sweating, politics, public washrooms, tardiness, tuition, hunting, pat answers, pick up lines, brown bananas, cliches, pine scented air freshener, Kevin Costner, bacon, candied apples, pro-wrestling, humidity, and hypocrisy. Books I've read recently The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy, The Dark Tower, When Nietzsche Wept, What's So Amazing About Grace?, Catcher in the Rye, Not Wanted On the Voyage, The Red Tent, The Little Prince, The Way the Crow Flies, Slaughterhouse-Five, The Poisonwood Bible, The Fall, The Knot of Vipers, Calculating God, The Chrysalids, Sick Puppy, Nineteen Eighty-Four, Franny and Zooey, The Brothers Karamazov, and jPod. I am slightly neurotic. No I'm not. Yes I am.

7 responses »

  1. I’m so sorry to hear this; I worry the exact same thing is going to happen to me when I get pregnant. I’ve been Very Vegetarian, like yourself, for about 18 years and the thought of eating meat makes me feel nauseous. But if my body starts rejecting everything else when I’m bearing a child… I don’t know what I’d do.

    I really sympathise. If you ever need anyone to talk to about this, definitely email. I’m not in the same situation, YET, but I still worry about it already!

    • I find it so strange that most pregnant meat eaters go through their first trimester made sick by meat and I, the veggie, crave it.

      It’s twisted.

      Anyhow, thanks for the understanding. It’s one of those issues where meat eaters can’t understand what your problem is, and vegetarians can’t understand how you could even consider eating flesh.

      ~A

      • Hi Angela,
        If you do have to eat meat during your pregnancy, could you get your hands on free-range stuff? Might that make you feel better (or not as bad)? I am a meat eater, but I have ethical problems with the way most animals are raised, so I’ve switched to free-range. It’s a first step…
        -Monique

    • I should also add, on a positive note, that my first pregnancy was a beautiful vegetarian pregnancy. No issues with getting enough protein, or my body rejecting healthy food.

      So, there’s definite hope!

  2. I ate nuts like a mo-fo when I was pregnant. They have the same concentration of protein as meat (I read that in a handbook of nutrition) and raw almonds helped heartburn a lot. Also, nuts never made me sick at the sight of them like everything else did when I was pregnant.

    Also, while I totally never craved meat, I remember seeing a pizza-steak commercial on TV and thinking it looked good and then laughing because I know that if I hadn’t been pregnant (and at a time in my pregnancy where the mere mention of food made me run to the kitchen to stuff my face), I’d’ve thought it sounded like a pretty gross idea.

    • I’m eating nuts like crazy. I get to a pint though, after about 1/3 of a cup, when I can’t eat any more. And I don’t want to push it just in case my insides decide to make nuts off limits.

      The good news is: I’m 12 weeks now, so hopefully the nausea will take off soon and I’ll be able to eat like normal again.

      As for my appetite, I go the total opposite way when pregnant. I feel so sick the first couple of months that I just skip food altogether. This time around I’ve only lost about 15lbs, but with Gabe it was double that. Not that I don’t have weight to spare, but it freaks me out to be having twins and still dropping the pounds.

      • The weird thing about me is that my first instinct when I’m nauseous is to eat (unless I’m so nauseous that I’m hovering over the toilet) so I totally gained weight during the first trimester.

        I kind of got the idea that the first trimester is all about not eating shit that will make your baby deformed (which is kind of where morning sickness can be helpful because most people won’t eat much or tend to eat sweet foods, which I read are less likely to give you food poisoning) and the second and third trimesters are where you are supposed to eat like a maniac.

        Anyway, I hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

