bin it

Standard

So everyone knows that, along with being cheap, I loves me a good deal.

Getting something for a song thrills me like nothing else.

It even one-ups sex, in that bargain hunting is a challenge and bargain finding, a surprise.  Sex and orgasms are a pretty much a sure thing.

Anyhow, my friend Judy called me with some info:

A former quilter/sewing teacher recently passed away and her children had organized a charity event, selling 70 years worth of crafty accumulation.

Now, let’s gloss over the fact that a woman had to die for my night of purchasing to occur and get straight to the good part.

The Bin of Supreme Awesomeness

The rules were thus:  Anything and everything I could fit in this bin = $40.   And I got to keep the bin.

The bin held a lot.

This hideous, but super-practical, project bag.  I need another project back like a need a hole in the head, but there was still room in my bin, so home it came.

Two great quilting books (with the combine sticker price of $90) and several quilting magazines.

Two skeins of Dream in Colour Classy (in Flamingo Pie) and a set of Hiya Hiya 16″ circular needles.

I found this gem in and amongst acres of the crappiest yarn in existence.  It was actually bought at Connie’s when her store was still in Bradford.  It still had the $51 sales slip inside. 

I’m not sure that I’ll use this, as it’s an organizational tool, and I can’t keep organized to save my life, but I’ve seen them at Fabricland and they looked useful.

And just to show that I’m not the most selfish mother in existence (I have to rate above Joan Crawford, surely), I picked up some art stuff for Behbeh.

I wish I’d been able to find more batik, but at least these three pieces are of generous size.  ~2 meters of each, maybe?

SO MUCH FABRIC.  Everything is 100% cotton.  Most are pretty generous pieces although there are a few fat quarters in there too.  I tried to get more neutrals and backgrounds that would go with whatever.

Sigh.

Did I mention I got all this for $40?

An excellent evening all ’round.

About Angela

My name is Angela. I am a 28 year old psych and criminology graduate, but I'd rather not diagnose you. I am a cuddle-slut. I can recite the entire script of The Princess Bride, (including accents) and believe that the meaning of life is contained within. Polyanna, Snap.com commercials, and Oprah 'reunion shows' make me cry. I can whistle and hum at the same time, but I cannot touch my toes. I am an expert in both listening and talking. I look good in orange. I am a writer. I kick ass in Gin, Hearts, and Cribbage but I don't understand Canasta or Bridge. I can be heard singing Broadway numbers from my shower, and have dressed up as a viking princess, (complete with aluminum foil breast plate) The Phantom of the Opera, and a Ghostbuster for Hallowe'en. I have a bird named Bean. I have a brother named Adam. They are not related. I like vanilla body lotion, peanut butter, saunas, Jim Carrey, broccoli, pets, TheOnion.com, Muppets, Kevin Smith, Corelle dishes, dry erase white-boards, Barenaked Ladies, Philosophy, the letter J, Harry Potter, picture frames, swimming, quilting, Michael Moore, genealogy, Raggedy Anne, tacky 50's tchotchke, 'Idiot's Complete Guide To' books, tweezers, feather pillows, polar dips, aquariums, Martin Luther King Jr., and Dr. Pepper. I don't like meat, gossips, cooked carrots, American Idol, mosquitoes, sweating, politics, public washrooms, tardiness, tuition, hunting, pat answers, pick up lines, brown bananas, cliches, pine scented air freshener, Kevin Costner, bacon, candied apples, pro-wrestling, humidity, and hypocrisy. Books I've read recently The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy, The Dark Tower, When Nietzsche Wept, What's So Amazing About Grace?, Catcher in the Rye, Not Wanted On the Voyage, The Red Tent, The Little Prince, The Way the Crow Flies, Slaughterhouse-Five, The Poisonwood Bible, The Fall, The Knot of Vipers, Calculating God, The Chrysalids, Sick Puppy, Nineteen Eighty-Four, Franny and Zooey, The Brothers Karamazov, and jPod. I am slightly neurotic. No I'm not. Yes I am.

2 responses »

  1. OMG, what a score!!! I love the batiked (is that the past tense of batik?) fabric. I love it all!

    I think I am living in a land where nobody crafts and nobody has estate sales or yard sales (there was one yard sale I have ever seen ever — I got a 70s cup and saucer (the saucer broke in our dishwasher), a wee box of threads, and two headscarves).

    “Now, let’s gloss over the fact that a woman had to die for my night of purchasing to occur and get straight to the good part.”
    Your blog is hilarious.

    • I KNOW!!

      I love yard saling (yes, it’s a verb) and it’s the only sport at which I excel.

      I can’t believe no on puts on estate sales in Scotland. I can just picture finding some amazing bits in an old drafty castle. Boo!

Leave a Reply

