still alive…still pregnant

Standard

So, I’d planned on a pregnancy journal.  One that would allow me to document all the itty bitty disgusting details of growing a child.

Didn’t quite work out that way.

So, in lieu of hundreds of posts, there will be one (or two, or three) long-ish disjointed one.

Pfft.

***

My pregnancy in a nutshell.

First off, whomever said pregnancy was ‘a beautiful thing’ should have their head examined.

Pregnancy is interesting, to be sure, but beautiful?  Not so much.

I spent the first 16 weeks vomiting up everything (save club soda and grapefruit) at all hours of the day and night.

Not fun.

I ended up losing about 30 lbs which isn’t exactly how pregnancy is supposed to go.

It does mean, however, that I have no ‘baby weight’ to worry about after the fact.  As if I’m the type to consider it, regardless.

My second trimester rocked.  I actually enjoyed being pregnant for the most part.  I don’t know if ‘glowing’ is the right term, but I wasn’t at all sore, and didn’t get many of the nastier pregnancy symptoms.

My summer was spent thanking God for the non-scorching weather and scouring yard sales and the like for gently used baby things.  I want my kid to look good, but I’m definitely not paying tonnes of money for outfits he might wear once or twice.

Did I mention we’re having a boy?

Yup.

Baby Boy Roberge.  And since we can’t come up with a name that we both agree on (you know that trouble I had naming Lola?  So much worse), Baby will probably be all she wrote for awhile.

I started feeling him move around the 19 week mark and he hasn’t stopped since.  I find myself sitting for far too long stretches of time staring intently at my belly, watching it gently (and not so gently) roll about.  My son is a mover.

My last trimester has been pretty good too.  Nothing like the horror stories I’ve heard from friends.  I still sleep pretty well (though I have no idea how that can possibly be, getting up 12 times during the night to pee), I don’t hurt too much (I loves me my chiropractor) and I’m still pretty mobile.

My ankles do swell a bit if I’m on my feet too long (I can press finger prints into my ankle), I’ve got this one vein that threatens to pop out every morning and my nipples have started leaking shockingly yellow beads of fluid, (was that too much information?) but I think I’m faring pretty well.

I never got that dark belly line, but can I just say, I now have the hairiest stomach on the planet?  What the heck is up with that?  Oh, and I’ve got all these tiny, finger print-like stretch marks.  9 of them, no more than 1/2 an inch long.  Strange.

I hit the 37 week mark tomorrow, so while I technically have three more weeks to go, I have a feeling I’m going to go early.  Premonition or wishful thinking?

Anyhow, while this entry may have been mildly informative, it’s horribly written and I apologize to the those who might still be reading.

I’ll endeavour to improve in the future.

About Angela

My name is Angela. I am a 28 year old psych and criminology graduate, but I'd rather not diagnose you. I am a cuddle-slut. I can recite the entire script of The Princess Bride, (including accents) and believe that the meaning of life is contained within. Polyanna, Snap.com commercials, and Oprah 'reunion shows' make me cry. I can whistle and hum at the same time, but I cannot touch my toes. I am an expert in both listening and talking. I look good in orange. I am a writer. I kick ass in Gin, Hearts, and Cribbage but I don't understand Canasta or Bridge. I can be heard singing Broadway numbers from my shower, and have dressed up as a viking princess, (complete with aluminum foil breast plate) The Phantom of the Opera, and a Ghostbuster for Hallowe'en. I have a bird named Bean. I have a brother named Adam. They are not related. I like vanilla body lotion, peanut butter, saunas, Jim Carrey, broccoli, pets, TheOnion.com, Muppets, Kevin Smith, Corelle dishes, dry erase white-boards, Barenaked Ladies, Philosophy, the letter J, Harry Potter, picture frames, swimming, quilting, Michael Moore, genealogy, Raggedy Anne, tacky 50's tchotchke, 'Idiot's Complete Guide To' books, tweezers, feather pillows, polar dips, aquariums, Martin Luther King Jr., and Dr. Pepper. I don't like meat, gossips, cooked carrots, American Idol, mosquitoes, sweating, politics, public washrooms, tardiness, tuition, hunting, pat answers, pick up lines, brown bananas, cliches, pine scented air freshener, Kevin Costner, bacon, candied apples, pro-wrestling, humidity, and hypocrisy. Books I've read recently The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy, The Dark Tower, When Nietzsche Wept, What's So Amazing About Grace?, Catcher in the Rye, Not Wanted On the Voyage, The Red Tent, The Little Prince, The Way the Crow Flies, Slaughterhouse-Five, The Poisonwood Bible, The Fall, The Knot of Vipers, Calculating God, The Chrysalids, Sick Puppy, Nineteen Eighty-Four, Franny and Zooey, The Brothers Karamazov, and jPod. I am slightly neurotic. No I'm not. Yes I am.

75 responses »

  1. no apologies necessary and …

    I (still!) buy all my kids’ clothing on ebay. Pretty-much everything they wear is second-hand gymboree … yeah. It’s great – I never have to leave the house AND they always look great AND I pay what I want to pay …

    excellent.

    🙂

  2. no apologies necessary and …

    I (still!) buy all my kids’ clothing on ebay. Pretty-much everything they wear is second-hand gymboree … yeah. It’s great – I never have to leave the house AND they always look great AND I pay what I want to pay …

    excellent.

    🙂

    • 2nd hand stuff rocks.

      I went to one sale where I got bags (BAGS) of designer kids clothes for $7.

      It’s amazing how great being stingy makes me feel.

      ~A

  3. no apologies necessary and …

    I (still!) buy all my kids’ clothing on ebay. Pretty-much everything they wear is second-hand gymboree … yeah. It’s great – I never have to leave the house AND they always look great AND I pay what I want to pay …

    excellent.

    🙂

    • 2nd hand stuff rocks.

      I went to one sale where I got bags (BAGS) of designer kids clothes for $7.

      It’s amazing how great being stingy makes me feel.

      ~A

  4. no apologies necessary and …

    I (still!) buy all my kids’ clothing on ebay. Pretty-much everything they wear is second-hand gymboree … yeah. It’s great – I never have to leave the house AND they always look great AND I pay what I want to pay …

    excellent.

    🙂

  5. no apologies necessary and …

    I (still!) buy all my kids’ clothing on ebay. Pretty-much everything they wear is second-hand gymboree … yeah. It’s great – I never have to leave the house AND they always look great AND I pay what I want to pay …

    excellent.

    🙂

  6. I love that you think you’re going to have time to write better/more journal entries. 😛

    I’m kidding, newborns don’t actually do a lot other than sleep, eat, and poop, and you can totally sit at the computer during most of that. Sorry you were sick for so long, but it sounds like everything’s much better now!

    If you think you’re going to go soon, you probably will. My daughter was born at 38 weeks, and that day I just knew it was going to be soon. My belly felt like it was literally going to pop if anyone so much as looked at it wrong–like when you’re filling a water balloon, and you fill it just a bit too far… that stretching feeling right before it bursts. And then you do. 🙂

    Good luck with the birth, I hope it’s as smooth and easy as most of your pregnancy has been. Share baby pictures!

  7. I love that you think you’re going to have time to write better/more journal entries. 😛

    I’m kidding, newborns don’t actually do a lot other than sleep, eat, and poop, and you can totally sit at the computer during most of that. Sorry you were sick for so long, but it sounds like everything’s much better now!

    If you think you’re going to go soon, you probably will. My daughter was born at 38 weeks, and that day I just knew it was going to be soon. My belly felt like it was literally going to pop if anyone so much as looked at it wrong–like when you’re filling a water balloon, and you fill it just a bit too far… that stretching feeling right before it bursts. And then you do. 🙂

    Good luck with the birth, I hope it’s as smooth and easy as most of your pregnancy has been. Share baby pictures!

    • Of course I’ll be sharing pictures!

      I don’t much know how I’m going to balance my vanity with my maternal need to show off Behbeh (I’m not very photogenic), but we’ll work something out, I’m sure.

      ~A

      PS. 38 weeks would be PERFECT.

  8. I love that you think you’re going to have time to write better/more journal entries. 😛

    I’m kidding, newborns don’t actually do a lot other than sleep, eat, and poop, and you can totally sit at the computer during most of that. Sorry you were sick for so long, but it sounds like everything’s much better now!

    If you think you’re going to go soon, you probably will. My daughter was born at 38 weeks, and that day I just knew it was going to be soon. My belly felt like it was literally going to pop if anyone so much as looked at it wrong–like when you’re filling a water balloon, and you fill it just a bit too far… that stretching feeling right before it bursts. And then you do. 🙂

    Good luck with the birth, I hope it’s as smooth and easy as most of your pregnancy has been. Share baby pictures!

    • Of course I’ll be sharing pictures!

      I don’t much know how I’m going to balance my vanity with my maternal need to show off Behbeh (I’m not very photogenic), but we’ll work something out, I’m sure.

      ~A

      PS. 38 weeks would be PERFECT.

  9. I love that you think you’re going to have time to write better/more journal entries. 😛

    I’m kidding, newborns don’t actually do a lot other than sleep, eat, and poop, and you can totally sit at the computer during most of that. Sorry you were sick for so long, but it sounds like everything’s much better now!

    If you think you’re going to go soon, you probably will. My daughter was born at 38 weeks, and that day I just knew it was going to be soon. My belly felt like it was literally going to pop if anyone so much as looked at it wrong–like when you’re filling a water balloon, and you fill it just a bit too far… that stretching feeling right before it bursts. And then you do. 🙂

    Good luck with the birth, I hope it’s as smooth and easy as most of your pregnancy has been. Share baby pictures!

  10. I love that you think you’re going to have time to write better/more journal entries. 😛

    I’m kidding, newborns don’t actually do a lot other than sleep, eat, and poop, and you can totally sit at the computer during most of that. Sorry you were sick for so long, but it sounds like everything’s much better now!

    If you think you’re going to go soon, you probably will. My daughter was born at 38 weeks, and that day I just knew it was going to be soon. My belly felt like it was literally going to pop if anyone so much as looked at it wrong–like when you’re filling a water balloon, and you fill it just a bit too far… that stretching feeling right before it bursts. And then you do. 🙂

    Good luck with the birth, I hope it’s as smooth and easy as most of your pregnancy has been. Share baby pictures!

    • It’s me!

      We’re all doing pretty well.

      I won’t miss having to pee every ten seconds, but the ‘cooking’ process has been really interesting.

      How are things with you and yours?

      ~A

    • It’s me!

      We’re all doing pretty well.

      I won’t miss having to pee every ten seconds, but the ‘cooking’ process has been really interesting.

      How are things with you and yours?

      ~A

  11. 2nd hand stuff rocks.

    I went to one sale where I got bags (BAGS) of designer kids clothes for $7.

    It’s amazing how great being stingy makes me feel.

    ~A

  12. 2nd hand stuff rocks.

    I went to one sale where I got bags (BAGS) of designer kids clothes for $7.

    It’s amazing how great being stingy makes me feel.

    ~A

  13. 2nd hand stuff rocks.

    I went to one sale where I got bags (BAGS) of designer kids clothes for $7.

    It’s amazing how great being stingy makes me feel.

    ~A

  14. Of course I’ll be sharing pictures!

    I don’t much know how I’m going to balance my vanity with my maternal need to show off Behbeh (I’m not very photogenic), but we’ll work something out, I’m sure.

    ~A

    PS. 38 weeks would be PERFECT.

  15. Of course I’ll be sharing pictures!

    I don’t much know how I’m going to balance my vanity with my maternal need to show off Behbeh (I’m not very photogenic), but we’ll work something out, I’m sure.

    ~A

    PS. 38 weeks would be PERFECT.

  16. Of course I’ll be sharing pictures!

    I don’t much know how I’m going to balance my vanity with my maternal need to show off Behbeh (I’m not very photogenic), but we’ll work something out, I’m sure.

    ~A

    PS. 38 weeks would be PERFECT.

  17. It’s me!

    We’re all doing pretty well.

    I won’t miss having to pee every ten seconds, but the ‘cooking’ process has been really interesting.

    How are things with you and yours?

    ~A

  18. It’s me!

    We’re all doing pretty well.

    I won’t miss having to pee every ten seconds, but the ‘cooking’ process has been really interesting.

    How are things with you and yours?

    ~A

  19. It’s me!

    We’re all doing pretty well.

    I won’t miss having to pee every ten seconds, but the ‘cooking’ process has been really interesting.

    How are things with you and yours?

    ~A

  20. Wow! I haven’t seen you in ages, and I saw one of your later posts this morning (I’m not on as much as I used to be these days,) and had to come see what you’ve been up to.

    A boy? That’s absolutely wonderful. Having two of my own, I can tell you they’re challenging and energetic and absolutely great.

    Your pregnancy sounds a lot like my first pregnancy, complete with the ubiquitous, ever-present morning sickness. I never understood why it was called morning sickness … I was nauseated 24/7!

    I wish you all the best, and my only advice to you these last couple of weeks is to rest as much as possible, and once the baby comes to sleep whenever you can. I didn’t and I was exhausted all the time (of course, Son#1 didn’t sleep through the night for months and your little guy might be different.)

    Anyway, I’m so thrilled for you going through this great big adventure, and I can’t help thinking that any child of yours is very lucky.

  21. Wow! I haven’t seen you in ages, and I saw one of your later posts this morning (I’m not on as much as I used to be these days,) and had to come see what you’ve been up to.

    A boy? That’s absolutely wonderful. Having two of my own, I can tell you they’re challenging and energetic and absolutely great.

    Your pregnancy sounds a lot like my first pregnancy, complete with the ubiquitous, ever-present morning sickness. I never understood why it was called morning sickness … I was nauseated 24/7!

    I wish you all the best, and my only advice to you these last couple of weeks is to rest as much as possible, and once the baby comes to sleep whenever you can. I didn’t and I was exhausted all the time (of course, Son#1 didn’t sleep through the night for months and your little guy might be different.)

    Anyway, I’m so thrilled for you going through this great big adventure, and I can’t help thinking that any child of yours is very lucky.

    • I know. I know. I’m a bad, bad blogger.

      I’m looking forward to having a boy, though, at the beginning I wanted a girl, mostly because of the cute clothes and lovely knitted items I could make.

      Anyhow, thanks for the well wishes. I hope I can live up to everyone’s (and my own!) expectations of ‘good mother’.

      ~Angela

      PS. How are things with you and yours?
      PPS. More importantly: How’s The Summoning? Abandoned?

      • I’m so happy for you really, and I’m sure you’ll be a wonderful mom. I’m sure you’ll be able to knit all sorts of cunning things for your little man.

        We’re all good. My boys are on the cusp of their adult lives and it’s exciting and terrifying at the same time.

        And … The Summoning is not abandoned. I just have to finish this exchange piece (I got prodded into doing) and then it’s the last bit for me to do. I’m looking forward to having it finished actually.

  22. Wow! I haven’t seen you in ages, and I saw one of your later posts this morning (I’m not on as much as I used to be these days,) and had to come see what you’ve been up to.

    A boy? That’s absolutely wonderful. Having two of my own, I can tell you they’re challenging and energetic and absolutely great.

    Your pregnancy sounds a lot like my first pregnancy, complete with the ubiquitous, ever-present morning sickness. I never understood why it was called morning sickness … I was nauseated 24/7!

    I wish you all the best, and my only advice to you these last couple of weeks is to rest as much as possible, and once the baby comes to sleep whenever you can. I didn’t and I was exhausted all the time (of course, Son#1 didn’t sleep through the night for months and your little guy might be different.)

    Anyway, I’m so thrilled for you going through this great big adventure, and I can’t help thinking that any child of yours is very lucky.

    • I know. I know. I’m a bad, bad blogger.

      I’m looking forward to having a boy, though, at the beginning I wanted a girl, mostly because of the cute clothes and lovely knitted items I could make.

      Anyhow, thanks for the well wishes. I hope I can live up to everyone’s (and my own!) expectations of ‘good mother’.

      ~Angela

      PS. How are things with you and yours?
      PPS. More importantly: How’s The Summoning? Abandoned?

      • I’m so happy for you really, and I’m sure you’ll be a wonderful mom. I’m sure you’ll be able to knit all sorts of cunning things for your little man.

        We’re all good. My boys are on the cusp of their adult lives and it’s exciting and terrifying at the same time.

        And … The Summoning is not abandoned. I just have to finish this exchange piece (I got prodded into doing) and then it’s the last bit for me to do. I’m looking forward to having it finished actually.

  23. Wow! I haven’t seen you in ages, and I saw one of your later posts this morning (I’m not on as much as I used to be these days,) and had to come see what you’ve been up to.

    A boy? That’s absolutely wonderful. Having two of my own, I can tell you they’re challenging and energetic and absolutely great.

    Your pregnancy sounds a lot like my first pregnancy, complete with the ubiquitous, ever-present morning sickness. I never understood why it was called morning sickness … I was nauseated 24/7!

    I wish you all the best, and my only advice to you these last couple of weeks is to rest as much as possible, and once the baby comes to sleep whenever you can. I didn’t and I was exhausted all the time (of course, Son#1 didn’t sleep through the night for months and your little guy might be different.)

    Anyway, I’m so thrilled for you going through this great big adventure, and I can’t help thinking that any child of yours is very lucky.

  24. Wow! I haven’t seen you in ages, and I saw one of your later posts this morning (I’m not on as much as I used to be these days,) and had to come see what you’ve been up to.

    A boy? That’s absolutely wonderful. Having two of my own, I can tell you they’re challenging and energetic and absolutely great.

    Your pregnancy sounds a lot like my first pregnancy, complete with the ubiquitous, ever-present morning sickness. I never understood why it was called morning sickness … I was nauseated 24/7!

    I wish you all the best, and my only advice to you these last couple of weeks is to rest as much as possible, and once the baby comes to sleep whenever you can. I didn’t and I was exhausted all the time (of course, Son#1 didn’t sleep through the night for months and your little guy might be different.)

    Anyway, I’m so thrilled for you going through this great big adventure, and I can’t help thinking that any child of yours is very lucky.

  25. I know. I know. I’m a bad, bad blogger.

    I’m looking forward to having a boy, though, at the beginning I wanted a girl, mostly because of the cute clothes and lovely knitted items I could make.

    Anyhow, thanks for the well wishes. I hope I can live up to everyone’s (and my own!) expectations of ‘good mother’.

    ~Angela

    PS. How are things with you and yours?
    PPS. More importantly: How’s The Summoning? Abandoned?

  26. I know. I know. I’m a bad, bad blogger.

    I’m looking forward to having a boy, though, at the beginning I wanted a girl, mostly because of the cute clothes and lovely knitted items I could make.

    Anyhow, thanks for the well wishes. I hope I can live up to everyone’s (and my own!) expectations of ‘good mother’.

    ~Angela

    PS. How are things with you and yours?
    PPS. More importantly: How’s The Summoning? Abandoned?

  27. I know. I know. I’m a bad, bad blogger.

    I’m looking forward to having a boy, though, at the beginning I wanted a girl, mostly because of the cute clothes and lovely knitted items I could make.

    Anyhow, thanks for the well wishes. I hope I can live up to everyone’s (and my own!) expectations of ‘good mother’.

    ~Angela

    PS. How are things with you and yours?
    PPS. More importantly: How’s The Summoning? Abandoned?

  28. I’m so happy for you really, and I’m sure you’ll be a wonderful mom. I’m sure you’ll be able to knit all sorts of cunning things for your little man.

    We’re all good. My boys are on the cusp of their adult lives and it’s exciting and terrifying at the same time.

    And … The Summoning is not abandoned. I just have to finish this exchange piece (I got prodded into doing) and then it’s the last bit for me to do. I’m looking forward to having it finished actually.

  29. I’m so happy for you really, and I’m sure you’ll be a wonderful mom. I’m sure you’ll be able to knit all sorts of cunning things for your little man.

    We’re all good. My boys are on the cusp of their adult lives and it’s exciting and terrifying at the same time.

    And … The Summoning is not abandoned. I just have to finish this exchange piece (I got prodded into doing) and then it’s the last bit for me to do. I’m looking forward to having it finished actually.

  30. I’m so happy for you really, and I’m sure you’ll be a wonderful mom. I’m sure you’ll be able to knit all sorts of cunning things for your little man.

    We’re all good. My boys are on the cusp of their adult lives and it’s exciting and terrifying at the same time.

    And … The Summoning is not abandoned. I just have to finish this exchange piece (I got prodded into doing) and then it’s the last bit for me to do. I’m looking forward to having it finished actually.

Leave a Reply

