whinge

Standard

First off, check out my shiny new icon.

Heh.

Second, apologies up front for the Pregnancy Journal status this site is inevitably going to acquire.

If you’re not interested, feel free to de-friend and check back in 9 months or so. 

Of course then it’ll no doubt morph into a HolyshitwhatthehellamIsupposedtodowiththisscreaminginfant Journal, so maybe you should check back in about 25 years.

***

So this whole pregnant thing (feeling pregnant vs. being pregnant) pretty much sucks.

Look in any book under symptoms and I’ve got them all.

Nausea (‘morning’ my arse)
Acne (I have pimples so large that I’m half convinced Fetus Roberge will be making her appearance through one of them)
Fatigue (How do women without a flexible work schedule do it?)
Food aversions (I’m currently on the club soda and citrus diet)
Odour aversions (the whole vegetarian thing is actually coming in handy on this point)
Breast sensitivity (for the love of God, don’t touch me)

I’ve been told this is all quite normal and even ‘a good sign’, but I’ve always been a bit of a baby when it comes to illness.

As for BEING pregnant, I’m pretty pleased.

Surprised, freaked out, terrified beyond description, but pleased.

See, Husband and I threw caution to the wind several years ago, so, I had pretty much resigned myself to being ‘broken’.

Husband is, naturally, over the moon.

It makes me want to punch him.

Hard.

I am, apparently, an angry broodmare.

About Angela

My name is Angela. I am a 28 year old psych and criminology graduate, but I'd rather not diagnose you. I am a cuddle-slut. I can recite the entire script of The Princess Bride, (including accents) and believe that the meaning of life is contained within. Polyanna, Snap.com commercials, and Oprah 'reunion shows' make me cry. I can whistle and hum at the same time, but I cannot touch my toes. I am an expert in both listening and talking. I look good in orange. I am a writer. I kick ass in Gin, Hearts, and Cribbage but I don't understand Canasta or Bridge. I can be heard singing Broadway numbers from my shower, and have dressed up as a viking princess, (complete with aluminum foil breast plate) The Phantom of the Opera, and a Ghostbuster for Hallowe'en. I have a bird named Bean. I have a brother named Adam. They are not related. I like vanilla body lotion, peanut butter, saunas, Jim Carrey, broccoli, pets, TheOnion.com, Muppets, Kevin Smith, Corelle dishes, dry erase white-boards, Barenaked Ladies, Philosophy, the letter J, Harry Potter, picture frames, swimming, quilting, Michael Moore, genealogy, Raggedy Anne, tacky 50's tchotchke, 'Idiot's Complete Guide To' books, tweezers, feather pillows, polar dips, aquariums, Martin Luther King Jr., and Dr. Pepper. I don't like meat, gossips, cooked carrots, American Idol, mosquitoes, sweating, politics, public washrooms, tardiness, tuition, hunting, pat answers, pick up lines, brown bananas, cliches, pine scented air freshener, Kevin Costner, bacon, candied apples, pro-wrestling, humidity, and hypocrisy. Books I've read recently The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy, The Dark Tower, When Nietzsche Wept, What's So Amazing About Grace?, Catcher in the Rye, Not Wanted On the Voyage, The Red Tent, The Little Prince, The Way the Crow Flies, Slaughterhouse-Five, The Poisonwood Bible, The Fall, The Knot of Vipers, Calculating God, The Chrysalids, Sick Puppy, Nineteen Eighty-Four, Franny and Zooey, The Brothers Karamazov, and jPod. I am slightly neurotic. No I'm not. Yes I am.

84 responses »

  1. I am, apparently, an angry broodmare.

    Awww… sweetie. Having never been pregnant myself, I can’t comment much. I do know that based on my few friend’s pregnacies, that sounds like you’re normal.

    I’ve heard that things get better after the first trimester.

  2. I am, apparently, an angry broodmare.

    Awww… sweetie. Having never been pregnant myself, I can’t comment much. I do know that based on my few friend’s pregnacies, that sounds like you’re normal.

    I’ve heard that things get better after the first trimester.

  3. I am, apparently, an angry broodmare.

    Awww… sweetie. Having never been pregnant myself, I can’t comment much. I do know that based on my few friend’s pregnacies, that sounds like you’re normal.

    I’ve heard that things get better after the first trimester.

  4. I am not happy that you’re feeling so gross (and grumpy to boot), but I am glad that everything is normal. I hope your unpleasant symptoms ease soon, and that all the good things I hear about pregnancy happen to you!

    • Me too!

      I want to be one of those disgustingly happy pregnant women that everyone else is totally jealous of.

      (Apparently being pregnant makes English grammar impossible.)

      ~A

  5. I am not happy that you’re feeling so gross (and grumpy to boot), but I am glad that everything is normal. I hope your unpleasant symptoms ease soon, and that all the good things I hear about pregnancy happen to you!

  6. I am not happy that you’re feeling so gross (and grumpy to boot), but I am glad that everything is normal. I hope your unpleasant symptoms ease soon, and that all the good things I hear about pregnancy happen to you!

  7. Hugs to you!

    The second trimester was wonderful for me – skin cleared up, all-day sickness went away, bursts of energy, getting that pregnant glow, etc.

    How many weeks are you?

  8. Hugs to you!

    The second trimester was wonderful for me – skin cleared up, all-day sickness went away, bursts of energy, getting that pregnant glow, etc.

    How many weeks are you?

  9. Hugs to you!

    The second trimester was wonderful for me – skin cleared up, all-day sickness went away, bursts of energy, getting that pregnant glow, etc.

    How many weeks are you?

  10. Me too!

    I want to be one of those disgustingly happy pregnant women that everyone else is totally jealous of.

    (Apparently being pregnant makes English grammar impossible.)

    ~A

  11. Me too!

    I want to be one of those disgustingly happy pregnant women that everyone else is totally jealous of.

    (Apparently being pregnant makes English grammar impossible.)

    ~A

  12. If how whiny I am about periods is any indication, I’m going to be absolutely unbearable if/when Mr. 42 and I go down that road. I know it’s not exactly fun, but I am so happy for you and your husband. And the good part about an over-the-moon husband is that you can send him on club soda and citrus runs at all hours. I hope the un-fun bits are over soon!

    • Re: blah blah blah blah

      Well, see, I’ve never had a period problem. No bloating, no cramps, no headaches and only the occasional bout of WhytheheckamIcrying?.

      It seems that The Universe has a perverse sense of humour, as I seem to be getting all 22 years of PMS in the space of 12 weeks.

      Guh.

      ~A

  13. If how whiny I am about periods is any indication, I’m going to be absolutely unbearable if/when Mr. 42 and I go down that road. I know it’s not exactly fun, but I am so happy for you and your husband. And the good part about an over-the-moon husband is that you can send him on club soda and citrus runs at all hours. I hope the un-fun bits are over soon!

  14. If how whiny I am about periods is any indication, I’m going to be absolutely unbearable if/when Mr. 42 and I go down that road. I know it’s not exactly fun, but I am so happy for you and your husband. And the good part about an over-the-moon husband is that you can send him on club soda and citrus runs at all hours. I hope the un-fun bits are over soon!

  15. blah blah blah blah

    Yeah, calling it morning sickness is misleading when it lasts all-day, every day for 5-6 weeks (up through week 11 for me, I was lucky, I think). My trick was to nibble constantly (I gained 10 pounds during the first trimester, but the bloat factor had a bit to do with that, for sure — thankfully bloat goes away about the same time morning sickness does), which made the nausea “bearable.”
    I’m a whole-foods freak and I swear I lived off breadsticks, cola, plain white pasta, ginger biscuits, peppermints, peppermint tea, white rolls, and cucumber for 5 weeks. I also slept most of the time I wasn’t working (shifts at my work are 9-10 hours, they were rough).
    If my friend hadn’t suggested I try eating Chinese Food (spicy), I might never have made it without getting jaundice, rickets, and scurvy. Okay, I took prenatal vitamins, too.

    Anyway, none of the “remedies” ever worked for me. You pretty much just have to buck up and deal with it, which SUCKS. That said, I did keep crackers (breadsticks or ritz crackers as they don’t have anything like Saltines/soda crackers here) by the bed to eat if I felt sick at night and before I got out of bed. And like I probably already said, I got so sick of ginger tea, I had to switch to peppermint. And cola really does help settle the stomach, it’s a shame it’s shite for your teeth and empty calories. But god, it saved me.

    A friend of mine suggested mashed potatoes and broth, which is what she lived off of, but my advice is don’t get the bottom-shelf (Morrison’s generic brand in my unfortunate case) instant mashed potatoes. Splurge and either eat them the proper way or at least get ones that are mashed potato flake, rather than weird instant mashed potato dust that tastes like ass. Sorry, I’ve still got a box here that I had to have Mark put out of sight because it scared me.

    It’s weird how smells hit you, too. I had to re-route all my walks home to avoid smelly (food) bars and greasy chip shops. I can’t even think about this white truffle oil I bought because I ate it at the wrong time (that’s out of sight, I told Mark to throw it away because I never want to see it again *shudder*) and I couldn’t even eat mushrooms for ages.

    It seems like the 5-6 weeks of morning sickness lasts a LONG time, but even now, it was totally worth it. I’m full of happy positive hormones (WHO AM I?!?) and feeling the belly baby kick, poke, roll, wiggle, etc. is one of the best things ever. I can’t explain it better than that, you’ll have to see for yourself.

    • Re: blah blah blah blah

      See, I’m going the opposite way. I can’t seem to keep anything down, so I’ve actually lost about 20 lbs. Now, I’m a big girl, so I’ve got it to spare, but still, that can’t be good.

      I’m also a whole food freak which has been both a blessing and a curse. It means that whatever I eat is super-healthy, but damn, sometimes I just want ice cream.

      And I’ve given up chocolate and coffee (caffeine in general) altogether, so there goes my tiny reason for living.

      Mandarin oranges and club soda (low NaCl, natch) seem to work well, but while they’re not really ‘bad’ for you, there’s not a whole lot to them either.

      Good news: It looks like I’m able to have a midwife, rather than an OB, so that’s cool.

      ~A

      • Re: blah blah blah blah

        Losing weight during the first trimester is loads more common than gaining as much as I did! It’s totally normal. Also, starving people in third world countries give birth to healthy babies all the time, so don’t be worried about early weight loss (if I recall correctly, only famine in the third trimester has been shown to really adversely affect the development).

        I didn’t give up caffeine, but I quit coffee and cut back on tea the first trimester and part of the second (I don’t even drink coffee every day anyway). A double espresso made me gimpy and jittery once during the first trimester, so I took that as a sign to not drink any coffee for a bit. I still have a wee bit of dark chocolate (it’s a health food now, have you read the news?) every day or so.

  16. blah blah blah blah

    Yeah, calling it morning sickness is misleading when it lasts all-day, every day for 5-6 weeks (up through week 11 for me, I was lucky, I think). My trick was to nibble constantly (I gained 10 pounds during the first trimester, but the bloat factor had a bit to do with that, for sure — thankfully bloat goes away about the same time morning sickness does), which made the nausea “bearable.”
    I’m a whole-foods freak and I swear I lived off breadsticks, cola, plain white pasta, ginger biscuits, peppermints, peppermint tea, white rolls, and cucumber for 5 weeks. I also slept most of the time I wasn’t working (shifts at my work are 9-10 hours, they were rough).
    If my friend hadn’t suggested I try eating Chinese Food (spicy), I might never have made it without getting jaundice, rickets, and scurvy. Okay, I took prenatal vitamins, too.

    Anyway, none of the “remedies” ever worked for me. You pretty much just have to buck up and deal with it, which SUCKS. That said, I did keep crackers (breadsticks or ritz crackers as they don’t have anything like Saltines/soda crackers here) by the bed to eat if I felt sick at night and before I got out of bed. And like I probably already said, I got so sick of ginger tea, I had to switch to peppermint. And cola really does help settle the stomach, it’s a shame it’s shite for your teeth and empty calories. But god, it saved me.

    A friend of mine suggested mashed potatoes and broth, which is what she lived off of, but my advice is don’t get the bottom-shelf (Morrison’s generic brand in my unfortunate case) instant mashed potatoes. Splurge and either eat them the proper way or at least get ones that are mashed potato flake, rather than weird instant mashed potato dust that tastes like ass. Sorry, I’ve still got a box here that I had to have Mark put out of sight because it scared me.

    It’s weird how smells hit you, too. I had to re-route all my walks home to avoid smelly (food) bars and greasy chip shops. I can’t even think about this white truffle oil I bought because I ate it at the wrong time (that’s out of sight, I told Mark to throw it away because I never want to see it again *shudder*) and I couldn’t even eat mushrooms for ages.

    It seems like the 5-6 weeks of morning sickness lasts a LONG time, but even now, it was totally worth it. I’m full of happy positive hormones (WHO AM I?!?) and feeling the belly baby kick, poke, roll, wiggle, etc. is one of the best things ever. I can’t explain it better than that, you’ll have to see for yourself.

  17. blah blah blah blah

    Yeah, calling it morning sickness is misleading when it lasts all-day, every day for 5-6 weeks (up through week 11 for me, I was lucky, I think). My trick was to nibble constantly (I gained 10 pounds during the first trimester, but the bloat factor had a bit to do with that, for sure — thankfully bloat goes away about the same time morning sickness does), which made the nausea “bearable.”
    I’m a whole-foods freak and I swear I lived off breadsticks, cola, plain white pasta, ginger biscuits, peppermints, peppermint tea, white rolls, and cucumber for 5 weeks. I also slept most of the time I wasn’t working (shifts at my work are 9-10 hours, they were rough).
    If my friend hadn’t suggested I try eating Chinese Food (spicy), I might never have made it without getting jaundice, rickets, and scurvy. Okay, I took prenatal vitamins, too.

    Anyway, none of the “remedies” ever worked for me. You pretty much just have to buck up and deal with it, which SUCKS. That said, I did keep crackers (breadsticks or ritz crackers as they don’t have anything like Saltines/soda crackers here) by the bed to eat if I felt sick at night and before I got out of bed. And like I probably already said, I got so sick of ginger tea, I had to switch to peppermint. And cola really does help settle the stomach, it’s a shame it’s shite for your teeth and empty calories. But god, it saved me.

    A friend of mine suggested mashed potatoes and broth, which is what she lived off of, but my advice is don’t get the bottom-shelf (Morrison’s generic brand in my unfortunate case) instant mashed potatoes. Splurge and either eat them the proper way or at least get ones that are mashed potato flake, rather than weird instant mashed potato dust that tastes like ass. Sorry, I’ve still got a box here that I had to have Mark put out of sight because it scared me.

    It’s weird how smells hit you, too. I had to re-route all my walks home to avoid smelly (food) bars and greasy chip shops. I can’t even think about this white truffle oil I bought because I ate it at the wrong time (that’s out of sight, I told Mark to throw it away because I never want to see it again *shudder*) and I couldn’t even eat mushrooms for ages.

    It seems like the 5-6 weeks of morning sickness lasts a LONG time, but even now, it was totally worth it. I’m full of happy positive hormones (WHO AM I?!?) and feeling the belly baby kick, poke, roll, wiggle, etc. is one of the best things ever. I can’t explain it better than that, you’ll have to see for yourself.

  18. Congratulations! The first trimester pretty much sucks, but after that, it gets really good! The second trimester feels absolutely wonderful. *passes you some crackers to get you through til then*

      • It’s weird how blissful I am. A long-time friend of mine was talking to me on the phone and she said, “god, you’re SO HAPPY!” Even my husband agrees I’m happier than usual. It is SO WEIRD.
        Not that I’m an unhappy person, I’m usually rather pleasant, but this is like Pollyanna and the frickin’ glad game or something.

  19. Congratulations! The first trimester pretty much sucks, but after that, it gets really good! The second trimester feels absolutely wonderful. *passes you some crackers to get you through til then*

  20. Congratulations! The first trimester pretty much sucks, but after that, it gets really good! The second trimester feels absolutely wonderful. *passes you some crackers to get you through til then*

  21. I will not BS you; feeling pregnant most definitely sucks. Fatigue, sensitivity, all-day sickness (because yes, “morning” is an utter lie), everything… bleh!

    Everyone says it’s just the first trimester, and I hope that’s true for you and the sickness passes; mine didn’t until the seventh month. It was so awful!

    The Man would make me “delicious” smoothies (well, he liked them, and to be fair, I probably would too, now) everyday, with yogurt, frozen berries, prenatal powder, spirulina protein power, bee pollen, wheat germ, lecithin… everything healthy and powderish he could find. Then he’d pour me a 24 oz cup and could not understand why I could barely get through it without throwing up again. Bah, men! But if you can handle it, sticking lecithin in your food is really great for your baby’s brain.

    Anyway, the point of that ramble was that despite a fairly miserable pregnancy, I had a really easy birth that resulted in a very healthy baby, so it wasn’t all bad. *shrugs* I’m sure you’re going to get way more advice than you need, that’s pretty much the only guarantee about being pregnant. πŸ˜‰

    • If I’m feeling this way by month 7, I think my husband will be a single parent.

      Guh.

      I’ve been making myself those ‘yummy’ shakes for years (raspberries, pomegranate juice, hemp protein powder, spirulina, hemp oil, psyllium, acidophilus, chlorophyll, etc) but had to cut it down to just the berries, juice and protein. I couldn’t choke the thicker concoction down any more.

      As for advice, I’m still in the OhmygodIknownothing Stage, so help is still welcome. I can’t guarantee I’ll feel the same in my 7-10 months. πŸ˜‰

      ~A

  22. I will not BS you; feeling pregnant most definitely sucks. Fatigue, sensitivity, all-day sickness (because yes, “morning” is an utter lie), everything… bleh!

    Everyone says it’s just the first trimester, and I hope that’s true for you and the sickness passes; mine didn’t until the seventh month. It was so awful!

    The Man would make me “delicious” smoothies (well, he liked them, and to be fair, I probably would too, now) everyday, with yogurt, frozen berries, prenatal powder, spirulina protein power, bee pollen, wheat germ, lecithin… everything healthy and powderish he could find. Then he’d pour me a 24 oz cup and could not understand why I could barely get through it without throwing up again. Bah, men! But if you can handle it, sticking lecithin in your food is really great for your baby’s brain.

    Anyway, the point of that ramble was that despite a fairly miserable pregnancy, I had a really easy birth that resulted in a very healthy baby, so it wasn’t all bad. *shrugs* I’m sure you’re going to get way more advice than you need, that’s pretty much the only guarantee about being pregnant. πŸ˜‰

  23. I will not BS you; feeling pregnant most definitely sucks. Fatigue, sensitivity, all-day sickness (because yes, “morning” is an utter lie), everything… bleh!

    Everyone says it’s just the first trimester, and I hope that’s true for you and the sickness passes; mine didn’t until the seventh month. It was so awful!

    The Man would make me “delicious” smoothies (well, he liked them, and to be fair, I probably would too, now) everyday, with yogurt, frozen berries, prenatal powder, spirulina protein power, bee pollen, wheat germ, lecithin… everything healthy and powderish he could find. Then he’d pour me a 24 oz cup and could not understand why I could barely get through it without throwing up again. Bah, men! But if you can handle it, sticking lecithin in your food is really great for your baby’s brain.

    Anyway, the point of that ramble was that despite a fairly miserable pregnancy, I had a really easy birth that resulted in a very healthy baby, so it wasn’t all bad. *shrugs* I’m sure you’re going to get way more advice than you need, that’s pretty much the only guarantee about being pregnant. πŸ˜‰

  24. Mine was pretty much the same, but luckily, it did pass by the end of the first trimester. Really try to enjoy the second trimester, because you start to look and feel pregnant and (hopefully) feel great, and then by the end of the third trimester, you have the I’M A BEACHED WHALE GET THIS THING OUT NOW – WAIT A MINUTE I HAVE TO GET THIS THING OUT HOW??? feelings to deal with. Not to scare you, because I loved my two pregnancies for the most part, and I definitely loved the cute widdle baby I got from both of them.

    • I’m very much looking forward to Trimester #2. Everyone keeps telling me it’s amazing, so it’s giving me something to move towards (not that I have much of a choice, really).

      And I’m not going to even THINK about labour at the moment. At this time I’m more concerned with keeping this baby INSIDE.

      ~A

  25. Mine was pretty much the same, but luckily, it did pass by the end of the first trimester. Really try to enjoy the second trimester, because you start to look and feel pregnant and (hopefully) feel great, and then by the end of the third trimester, you have the I’M A BEACHED WHALE GET THIS THING OUT NOW – WAIT A MINUTE I HAVE TO GET THIS THING OUT HOW??? feelings to deal with. Not to scare you, because I loved my two pregnancies for the most part, and I definitely loved the cute widdle baby I got from both of them.

  26. Mine was pretty much the same, but luckily, it did pass by the end of the first trimester. Really try to enjoy the second trimester, because you start to look and feel pregnant and (hopefully) feel great, and then by the end of the third trimester, you have the I’M A BEACHED WHALE GET THIS THING OUT NOW – WAIT A MINUTE I HAVE TO GET THIS THING OUT HOW??? feelings to deal with. Not to scare you, because I loved my two pregnancies for the most part, and I definitely loved the cute widdle baby I got from both of them.

  27. When pregnant with Sadie, I took naps on my lunch hour. On the antique couch. In the formal ‘meeting/waiting’ room. At the very prestigious financial firm for which I worked.

    There was no where else to go and there was no way I could make it through the day without having a little lie-down.

    And then I would go to sleep almost immediately when I got home.

    Fortunately, for me, I had constant nausea but rarely actually threw up.

    My girlfriend threw up six or seven times a day. Every day. All nine months. With both children. EVEN WHILE ON DRUGS. She lived in Cambridge at the time and commuted into Mississauga a few days a week. She would literally throw up while driving. … yeah. She had it down to a fine science.

    Also? I know a woman who threw up so much she rotted out her back molars. No joke.

    (Amazing how pregnancies bring out those fabulous pregnancy stories, eh?)

    • I’m normally up by 8:30, back in bed for noon and up again for 1:30. Normally, I’m then good until around 9pm, when I start to seriously wilt.

      Hats off to women that work full time all the way through. I totally salute you.

      As for the nausea: I didn’t start throwing up until about two weeks ago. Now it’s just about every day (just once a day, though, thank goodness) to the point where I’ve broken little blood vessels under my eyes. It’s very attractive. The IwishIcouldthrowupbecauseIfeelsowretched feeling never really goes away, though.

      ~A

  28. When pregnant with Sadie, I took naps on my lunch hour. On the antique couch. In the formal ‘meeting/waiting’ room. At the very prestigious financial firm for which I worked.

    There was no where else to go and there was no way I could make it through the day without having a little lie-down.

    And then I would go to sleep almost immediately when I got home.

    Fortunately, for me, I had constant nausea but rarely actually threw up.

    My girlfriend threw up six or seven times a day. Every day. All nine months. With both children. EVEN WHILE ON DRUGS. She lived in Cambridge at the time and commuted into Mississauga a few days a week. She would literally throw up while driving. … yeah. She had it down to a fine science.

    Also? I know a woman who threw up so much she rotted out her back molars. No joke.

    (Amazing how pregnancies bring out those fabulous pregnancy stories, eh?)

  29. When pregnant with Sadie, I took naps on my lunch hour. On the antique couch. In the formal ‘meeting/waiting’ room. At the very prestigious financial firm for which I worked.

    There was no where else to go and there was no way I could make it through the day without having a little lie-down.

    And then I would go to sleep almost immediately when I got home.

    Fortunately, for me, I had constant nausea but rarely actually threw up.

    My girlfriend threw up six or seven times a day. Every day. All nine months. With both children. EVEN WHILE ON DRUGS. She lived in Cambridge at the time and commuted into Mississauga a few days a week. She would literally throw up while driving. … yeah. She had it down to a fine science.

    Also? I know a woman who threw up so much she rotted out her back molars. No joke.

    (Amazing how pregnancies bring out those fabulous pregnancy stories, eh?)

  30. Re: blah blah blah blah

    Well, see, I’ve never had a period problem. No bloating, no cramps, no headaches and only the occasional bout of WhytheheckamIcrying?.

    It seems that The Universe has a perverse sense of humour, as I seem to be getting all 22 years of PMS in the space of 12 weeks.

    Guh.

    ~A

  31. Re: blah blah blah blah

    Well, see, I’ve never had a period problem. No bloating, no cramps, no headaches and only the occasional bout of WhytheheckamIcrying?.

    It seems that The Universe has a perverse sense of humour, as I seem to be getting all 22 years of PMS in the space of 12 weeks.

    Guh.

    ~A

  32. Re: blah blah blah blah

    See, I’m going the opposite way. I can’t seem to keep anything down, so I’ve actually lost about 20 lbs. Now, I’m a big girl, so I’ve got it to spare, but still, that can’t be good.

    I’m also a whole food freak which has been both a blessing and a curse. It means that whatever I eat is super-healthy, but damn, sometimes I just want ice cream.

    And I’ve given up chocolate and coffee (caffeine in general) altogether, so there goes my tiny reason for living.

    Mandarin oranges and club soda (low NaCl, natch) seem to work well, but while they’re not really ‘bad’ for you, there’s not a whole lot to them either.

    Good news: It looks like I’m able to have a midwife, rather than an OB, so that’s cool.

    ~A

  33. Re: blah blah blah blah

    See, I’m going the opposite way. I can’t seem to keep anything down, so I’ve actually lost about 20 lbs. Now, I’m a big girl, so I’ve got it to spare, but still, that can’t be good.

    I’m also a whole food freak which has been both a blessing and a curse. It means that whatever I eat is super-healthy, but damn, sometimes I just want ice cream.

    And I’ve given up chocolate and coffee (caffeine in general) altogether, so there goes my tiny reason for living.

    Mandarin oranges and club soda (low NaCl, natch) seem to work well, but while they’re not really ‘bad’ for you, there’s not a whole lot to them either.

    Good news: It looks like I’m able to have a midwife, rather than an OB, so that’s cool.

    ~A

  34. If I’m feeling this way by month 7, I think my husband will be a single parent.

    Guh.

    I’ve been making myself those ‘yummy’ shakes for years (raspberries, pomegranate juice, hemp protein powder, spirulina, hemp oil, psyllium, acidophilus, chlorophyll, etc) but had to cut it down to just the berries, juice and protein. I couldn’t choke the thicker concoction down any more.

    As for advice, I’m still in the OhmygodIknownothing Stage, so help is still welcome. I can’t guarantee I’ll feel the same in my 7-10 months. πŸ˜‰

    ~A

  35. If I’m feeling this way by month 7, I think my husband will be a single parent.

    Guh.

    I’ve been making myself those ‘yummy’ shakes for years (raspberries, pomegranate juice, hemp protein powder, spirulina, hemp oil, psyllium, acidophilus, chlorophyll, etc) but had to cut it down to just the berries, juice and protein. I couldn’t choke the thicker concoction down any more.

    As for advice, I’m still in the OhmygodIknownothing Stage, so help is still welcome. I can’t guarantee I’ll feel the same in my 7-10 months. πŸ˜‰

    ~A

  36. I’m very much looking forward to Trimester #2. Everyone keeps telling me it’s amazing, so it’s giving me something to move towards (not that I have much of a choice, really).

    And I’m not going to even THINK about labour at the moment. At this time I’m more concerned with keeping this baby INSIDE.

    ~A

  37. I’m very much looking forward to Trimester #2. Everyone keeps telling me it’s amazing, so it’s giving me something to move towards (not that I have much of a choice, really).

    And I’m not going to even THINK about labour at the moment. At this time I’m more concerned with keeping this baby INSIDE.

    ~A

  38. I’m normally up by 8:30, back in bed for noon and up again for 1:30. Normally, I’m then good until around 9pm, when I start to seriously wilt.

    Hats off to women that work full time all the way through. I totally salute you.

    As for the nausea: I didn’t start throwing up until about two weeks ago. Now it’s just about every day (just once a day, though, thank goodness) to the point where I’ve broken little blood vessels under my eyes. It’s very attractive. The IwishIcouldthrowupbecauseIfeelsowretched feeling never really goes away, though.

    ~A

  39. I’m normally up by 8:30, back in bed for noon and up again for 1:30. Normally, I’m then good until around 9pm, when I start to seriously wilt.

    Hats off to women that work full time all the way through. I totally salute you.

    As for the nausea: I didn’t start throwing up until about two weeks ago. Now it’s just about every day (just once a day, though, thank goodness) to the point where I’ve broken little blood vessels under my eyes. It’s very attractive. The IwishIcouldthrowupbecauseIfeelsowretched feeling never really goes away, though.

    ~A

  40. Re: blah blah blah blah

    Losing weight during the first trimester is loads more common than gaining as much as I did! It’s totally normal. Also, starving people in third world countries give birth to healthy babies all the time, so don’t be worried about early weight loss (if I recall correctly, only famine in the third trimester has been shown to really adversely affect the development).

    I didn’t give up caffeine, but I quit coffee and cut back on tea the first trimester and part of the second (I don’t even drink coffee every day anyway). A double espresso made me gimpy and jittery once during the first trimester, so I took that as a sign to not drink any coffee for a bit. I still have a wee bit of dark chocolate (it’s a health food now, have you read the news?) every day or so.

  41. Re: blah blah blah blah

    Losing weight during the first trimester is loads more common than gaining as much as I did! It’s totally normal. Also, starving people in third world countries give birth to healthy babies all the time, so don’t be worried about early weight loss (if I recall correctly, only famine in the third trimester has been shown to really adversely affect the development).

    I didn’t give up caffeine, but I quit coffee and cut back on tea the first trimester and part of the second (I don’t even drink coffee every day anyway). A double espresso made me gimpy and jittery once during the first trimester, so I took that as a sign to not drink any coffee for a bit. I still have a wee bit of dark chocolate (it’s a health food now, have you read the news?) every day or so.

  42. It’s weird how blissful I am. A long-time friend of mine was talking to me on the phone and she said, “god, you’re SO HAPPY!” Even my husband agrees I’m happier than usual. It is SO WEIRD.
    Not that I’m an unhappy person, I’m usually rather pleasant, but this is like Pollyanna and the frickin’ glad game or something.

  43. It’s weird how blissful I am. A long-time friend of mine was talking to me on the phone and she said, “god, you’re SO HAPPY!” Even my husband agrees I’m happier than usual. It is SO WEIRD.
    Not that I’m an unhappy person, I’m usually rather pleasant, but this is like Pollyanna and the frickin’ glad game or something.

Leave a Reply

