Ancient History

Standard

So, I found this diary that I’ve written in – on and off – since 1997.

Wow.

I think I’m going to post some of the better entries.

For posterity’s sake.

And for my own amusement.

The first entry?

If you learn anything by reading this journal, I pray that it is to never attempt to adjust your tampon while sporting acrylic nails.

Timeless advice, really.

About Angela

My name is Angela. I am a 28 year old psych and criminology graduate, but I'd rather not diagnose you. I am a cuddle-slut. I can recite the entire script of The Princess Bride, (including accents) and believe that the meaning of life is contained within. Polyanna, Snap.com commercials, and Oprah 'reunion shows' make me cry. I can whistle and hum at the same time, but I cannot touch my toes. I am an expert in both listening and talking. I look good in orange. I am a writer. I kick ass in Gin, Hearts, and Cribbage but I don't understand Canasta or Bridge. I can be heard singing Broadway numbers from my shower, and have dressed up as a viking princess, (complete with aluminum foil breast plate) The Phantom of the Opera, and a Ghostbuster for Hallowe'en. I have a bird named Bean. I have a brother named Adam. They are not related. I like vanilla body lotion, peanut butter, saunas, Jim Carrey, broccoli, pets, TheOnion.com, Muppets, Kevin Smith, Corelle dishes, dry erase white-boards, Barenaked Ladies, Philosophy, the letter J, Harry Potter, picture frames, swimming, quilting, Michael Moore, genealogy, Raggedy Anne, tacky 50's tchotchke, 'Idiot's Complete Guide To' books, tweezers, feather pillows, polar dips, aquariums, Martin Luther King Jr., and Dr. Pepper. I don't like meat, gossips, cooked carrots, American Idol, mosquitoes, sweating, politics, public washrooms, tardiness, tuition, hunting, pat answers, pick up lines, brown bananas, cliches, pine scented air freshener, Kevin Costner, bacon, candied apples, pro-wrestling, humidity, and hypocrisy. Books I've read recently The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy, The Dark Tower, When Nietzsche Wept, What's So Amazing About Grace?, Catcher in the Rye, Not Wanted On the Voyage, The Red Tent, The Little Prince, The Way the Crow Flies, Slaughterhouse-Five, The Poisonwood Bible, The Fall, The Knot of Vipers, Calculating God, The Chrysalids, Sick Puppy, Nineteen Eighty-Four, Franny and Zooey, The Brothers Karamazov, and jPod. I am slightly neurotic. No I'm not. Yes I am.

90 responses »

  1. Excellent advice. *snerk*

    I recently found an old journal, too. I’ve started posting the entries in date order to this journal. (So anyone who wanted to read them would have to go to the beginning of my journal calendar.) This way, I can get rid of the journal, and just back this up to keep the entries. 🙂

  2. Excellent advice. *snerk*

    I recently found an old journal, too. I’ve started posting the entries in date order to this journal. (So anyone who wanted to read them would have to go to the beginning of my journal calendar.) This way, I can get rid of the journal, and just back this up to keep the entries. 🙂

    • Some of the entries are pretty amusing in an oh-dear-lord-enough-with-the-teen-aged-angst-already.

      I’ll probably still post them, just for kicks.

      And yes, I’d like to get rid of the journal.

      Dust catcher and all that.

      ~A

  3. Excellent advice. *snerk*

    I recently found an old journal, too. I’ve started posting the entries in date order to this journal. (So anyone who wanted to read them would have to go to the beginning of my journal calendar.) This way, I can get rid of the journal, and just back this up to keep the entries. 🙂

    • Some of the entries are pretty amusing in an oh-dear-lord-enough-with-the-teen-aged-angst-already.

      I’ll probably still post them, just for kicks.

      And yes, I’d like to get rid of the journal.

      Dust catcher and all that.

      ~A

  4. Excellent advice. *snerk*

    I recently found an old journal, too. I’ve started posting the entries in date order to this journal. (So anyone who wanted to read them would have to go to the beginning of my journal calendar.) This way, I can get rid of the journal, and just back this up to keep the entries. 🙂

  5. Excellent advice. *snerk*

    I recently found an old journal, too. I’ve started posting the entries in date order to this journal. (So anyone who wanted to read them would have to go to the beginning of my journal calendar.) This way, I can get rid of the journal, and just back this up to keep the entries. 🙂

  6. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!

    Part of me hopes one day that we come up with a better substance than acrylic to stick on our fingertips (a friend is allergic but refuses to leave her nails uncovered) and a more sensible solution to menses than tampons. 😉

  7. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!

    Part of me hopes one day that we come up with a better substance than acrylic to stick on our fingertips (a friend is allergic but refuses to leave her nails uncovered) and a more sensible solution to menses than tampons. 😉

      • Ooh, I’ve seen those but haven’t tried one yet. Since I’m currently on a single-dosage pill for birth control, all I’d have to do not have a period is skip the inactive week of pills. The period induced by the inactive pills isn’t even a true period, and I certainly wouldn’t miss it. A mixture of squeamishness and a strict insurance provider has prevented me from doing so thus far, but when I change jobs, that’s something I’m going to look into!

      • I’m not big on medication…especially those that mess with my hormones.

        And the thought of all that stuff not being cleaned out every month bothers me more than having a period does.

        The Diva Cup is almost like not having a period at all. You change it in the morning and at night and the rest of the time, you forget about it.

        WONDERFUL INVENTION.

        ~A

      • You’re fortunate that you can function normally without medication of the sort. My hormones have never been what you’d call balanced. Being a somewhat anally retentive person who craves consistency, the humiliation of knowing I was a raving lunatic every four weeks was nearly as bad as the debilitating cramps. Being on the pill has helped both considerably- the birth-control aspects are just the icing on the cake. It’s also a relief that the pill has been used safely for decades without any of the negative effects associated with other types of hormone therapy (e.g., osteoporosis), largely because the dosage is so low. Still, I’ll pity my poor sweet husband when I reach menopause.

        The attraction I see to ending my period pharmaceutically (temporarily) is that I believe the buildup of the uterine lining, monthly ovulation, and menustation is an enormous waste of energy. In fact, the men who first marketed the pill put in the inactive week because they thought women would be weirded out about not having their period, not because of any inherent risks in doing so. Alas, medicine is a very long way from preventing ovulation until needed or wanted, but the benefits, including a drop in unwanted pregnancies and a rise in fertility, certainly encourage me to think more seriously about the possibility. I know that there are many medical concerns and ethical issues involved, far beyond the concerns of fundamentalist groups, but I can’t help but be excited at the prospect of not having a period.

        My friend who is currently contemplating having a baby put it best: biology is indignity.
        I suppose I’ll get over it one of these days, particularly if we ever decide to have children. 🙂

  8. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!

    Part of me hopes one day that we come up with a better substance than acrylic to stick on our fingertips (a friend is allergic but refuses to leave her nails uncovered) and a more sensible solution to menses than tampons. 😉

      • Ooh, I’ve seen those but haven’t tried one yet. Since I’m currently on a single-dosage pill for birth control, all I’d have to do not have a period is skip the inactive week of pills. The period induced by the inactive pills isn’t even a true period, and I certainly wouldn’t miss it. A mixture of squeamishness and a strict insurance provider has prevented me from doing so thus far, but when I change jobs, that’s something I’m going to look into!

      • I’m not big on medication…especially those that mess with my hormones.

        And the thought of all that stuff not being cleaned out every month bothers me more than having a period does.

        The Diva Cup is almost like not having a period at all. You change it in the morning and at night and the rest of the time, you forget about it.

        WONDERFUL INVENTION.

        ~A

      • You’re fortunate that you can function normally without medication of the sort. My hormones have never been what you’d call balanced. Being a somewhat anally retentive person who craves consistency, the humiliation of knowing I was a raving lunatic every four weeks was nearly as bad as the debilitating cramps. Being on the pill has helped both considerably- the birth-control aspects are just the icing on the cake. It’s also a relief that the pill has been used safely for decades without any of the negative effects associated with other types of hormone therapy (e.g., osteoporosis), largely because the dosage is so low. Still, I’ll pity my poor sweet husband when I reach menopause.

        The attraction I see to ending my period pharmaceutically (temporarily) is that I believe the buildup of the uterine lining, monthly ovulation, and menustation is an enormous waste of energy. In fact, the men who first marketed the pill put in the inactive week because they thought women would be weirded out about not having their period, not because of any inherent risks in doing so. Alas, medicine is a very long way from preventing ovulation until needed or wanted, but the benefits, including a drop in unwanted pregnancies and a rise in fertility, certainly encourage me to think more seriously about the possibility. I know that there are many medical concerns and ethical issues involved, far beyond the concerns of fundamentalist groups, but I can’t help but be excited at the prospect of not having a period.

        My friend who is currently contemplating having a baby put it best: biology is indignity.
        I suppose I’ll get over it one of these days, particularly if we ever decide to have children. 🙂

  9. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!

    Part of me hopes one day that we come up with a better substance than acrylic to stick on our fingertips (a friend is allergic but refuses to leave her nails uncovered) and a more sensible solution to menses than tampons. 😉

  10. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!

    Part of me hopes one day that we come up with a better substance than acrylic to stick on our fingertips (a friend is allergic but refuses to leave her nails uncovered) and a more sensible solution to menses than tampons. 😉

  11. Some of the entries are pretty amusing in an oh-dear-lord-enough-with-the-teen-aged-angst-already.

    I’ll probably still post them, just for kicks.

    And yes, I’d like to get rid of the journal.

    Dust catcher and all that.

    ~A

  12. Some of the entries are pretty amusing in an oh-dear-lord-enough-with-the-teen-aged-angst-already.

    I’ll probably still post them, just for kicks.

    And yes, I’d like to get rid of the journal.

    Dust catcher and all that.

    ~A

  13. Some of the entries are pretty amusing in an oh-dear-lord-enough-with-the-teen-aged-angst-already.

    I’ll probably still post them, just for kicks.

    And yes, I’d like to get rid of the journal.

    Dust catcher and all that.

    ~A

  14. If only I’d read this twenty minutes ago …

    (BA HAHAHHAHAHAHA – as if I’d ever wear acrylic nails. [Not because they’re uncool, just because, being a piano player and all that …])

  15. If only I’d read this twenty minutes ago …

    (BA HAHAHHAHAHAHA – as if I’d ever wear acrylic nails. [Not because they’re uncool, just because, being a piano player and all that …])

  16. If only I’d read this twenty minutes ago …

    (BA HAHAHHAHAHAHA – as if I’d ever wear acrylic nails. [Not because they’re uncool, just because, being a piano player and all that …])

  17. That would have been a root-beer-out-my-nose kind of moment….if I’d been drinking root beer when I read that. Good chocolate – I don’t know if I’d have thought of that on my own!

    😛

  18. That would have been a root-beer-out-my-nose kind of moment….if I’d been drinking root beer when I read that. Good chocolate – I don’t know if I’d have thought of that on my own!

    😛

  19. That would have been a root-beer-out-my-nose kind of moment….if I’d been drinking root beer when I read that. Good chocolate – I don’t know if I’d have thought of that on my own!

    😛

  20. That would have been a root-beer-out-my-nose kind of moment….if I’d been drinking root beer when I read that. Good chocolate – I don’t know if I’d have thought of that on my own!

    😛

  21. That would have been a root-beer-out-my-nose kind of moment….if I’d been drinking root beer when I read that. Good chocolate – I don’t know if I’d have thought of that on my own!

    😛

  22. Ooh, I’ve seen those but haven’t tried one yet. Since I’m currently on a single-dosage pill for birth control, all I’d have to do not have a period is skip the inactive week of pills. The period induced by the inactive pills isn’t even a true period, and I certainly wouldn’t miss it. A mixture of squeamishness and a strict insurance provider has prevented me from doing so thus far, but when I change jobs, that’s something I’m going to look into!

  23. Ooh, I’ve seen those but haven’t tried one yet. Since I’m currently on a single-dosage pill for birth control, all I’d have to do not have a period is skip the inactive week of pills. The period induced by the inactive pills isn’t even a true period, and I certainly wouldn’t miss it. A mixture of squeamishness and a strict insurance provider has prevented me from doing so thus far, but when I change jobs, that’s something I’m going to look into!

  24. Ooh, I’ve seen those but haven’t tried one yet. Since I’m currently on a single-dosage pill for birth control, all I’d have to do not have a period is skip the inactive week of pills. The period induced by the inactive pills isn’t even a true period, and I certainly wouldn’t miss it. A mixture of squeamishness and a strict insurance provider has prevented me from doing so thus far, but when I change jobs, that’s something I’m going to look into!

  25. I’m not big on medication…especially those that mess with my hormones.

    And the thought of all that stuff not being cleaned out every month bothers me more than having a period does.

    The Diva Cup is almost like not having a period at all. You change it in the morning and at night and the rest of the time, you forget about it.

    WONDERFUL INVENTION.

    ~A

  26. I’m not big on medication…especially those that mess with my hormones.

    And the thought of all that stuff not being cleaned out every month bothers me more than having a period does.

    The Diva Cup is almost like not having a period at all. You change it in the morning and at night and the rest of the time, you forget about it.

    WONDERFUL INVENTION.

    ~A

  27. I’m not big on medication…especially those that mess with my hormones.

    And the thought of all that stuff not being cleaned out every month bothers me more than having a period does.

    The Diva Cup is almost like not having a period at all. You change it in the morning and at night and the rest of the time, you forget about it.

    WONDERFUL INVENTION.

    ~A

  28. You’re fortunate that you can function normally without medication of the sort. My hormones have never been what you’d call balanced. Being a somewhat anally retentive person who craves consistency, the humiliation of knowing I was a raving lunatic every four weeks was nearly as bad as the debilitating cramps. Being on the pill has helped both considerably- the birth-control aspects are just the icing on the cake. It’s also a relief that the pill has been used safely for decades without any of the negative effects associated with other types of hormone therapy (e.g., osteoporosis), largely because the dosage is so low. Still, I’ll pity my poor sweet husband when I reach menopause.

    The attraction I see to ending my period pharmaceutically (temporarily) is that I believe the buildup of the uterine lining, monthly ovulation, and menustation is an enormous waste of energy. In fact, the men who first marketed the pill put in the inactive week because they thought women would be weirded out about not having their period, not because of any inherent risks in doing so. Alas, medicine is a very long way from preventing ovulation until needed or wanted, but the benefits, including a drop in unwanted pregnancies and a rise in fertility, certainly encourage me to think more seriously about the possibility. I know that there are many medical concerns and ethical issues involved, far beyond the concerns of fundamentalist groups, but I can’t help but be excited at the prospect of not having a period.

    My friend who is currently contemplating having a baby put it best: biology is indignity.
    I suppose I’ll get over it one of these days, particularly if we ever decide to have children. 🙂

  29. You’re fortunate that you can function normally without medication of the sort. My hormones have never been what you’d call balanced. Being a somewhat anally retentive person who craves consistency, the humiliation of knowing I was a raving lunatic every four weeks was nearly as bad as the debilitating cramps. Being on the pill has helped both considerably- the birth-control aspects are just the icing on the cake. It’s also a relief that the pill has been used safely for decades without any of the negative effects associated with other types of hormone therapy (e.g., osteoporosis), largely because the dosage is so low. Still, I’ll pity my poor sweet husband when I reach menopause.

    The attraction I see to ending my period pharmaceutically (temporarily) is that I believe the buildup of the uterine lining, monthly ovulation, and menustation is an enormous waste of energy. In fact, the men who first marketed the pill put in the inactive week because they thought women would be weirded out about not having their period, not because of any inherent risks in doing so. Alas, medicine is a very long way from preventing ovulation until needed or wanted, but the benefits, including a drop in unwanted pregnancies and a rise in fertility, certainly encourage me to think more seriously about the possibility. I know that there are many medical concerns and ethical issues involved, far beyond the concerns of fundamentalist groups, but I can’t help but be excited at the prospect of not having a period.

    My friend who is currently contemplating having a baby put it best: biology is indignity.
    I suppose I’ll get over it one of these days, particularly if we ever decide to have children. 🙂

  30. You’re fortunate that you can function normally without medication of the sort. My hormones have never been what you’d call balanced. Being a somewhat anally retentive person who craves consistency, the humiliation of knowing I was a raving lunatic every four weeks was nearly as bad as the debilitating cramps. Being on the pill has helped both considerably- the birth-control aspects are just the icing on the cake. It’s also a relief that the pill has been used safely for decades without any of the negative effects associated with other types of hormone therapy (e.g., osteoporosis), largely because the dosage is so low. Still, I’ll pity my poor sweet husband when I reach menopause.

    The attraction I see to ending my period pharmaceutically (temporarily) is that I believe the buildup of the uterine lining, monthly ovulation, and menustation is an enormous waste of energy. In fact, the men who first marketed the pill put in the inactive week because they thought women would be weirded out about not having their period, not because of any inherent risks in doing so. Alas, medicine is a very long way from preventing ovulation until needed or wanted, but the benefits, including a drop in unwanted pregnancies and a rise in fertility, certainly encourage me to think more seriously about the possibility. I know that there are many medical concerns and ethical issues involved, far beyond the concerns of fundamentalist groups, but I can’t help but be excited at the prospect of not having a period.

    My friend who is currently contemplating having a baby put it best: biology is indignity.
    I suppose I’ll get over it one of these days, particularly if we ever decide to have children. 🙂

Leave a Reply

