Speaking of Scary Shtuff

Standard

On October 1, God is in His heaven, the stock market stands at 10,140, most of the planes are on time, and Clayton Riddell, an artist from Maine, is almost bouncing up Boylston Street in Boston. He”s just landed a comic book deal that might finally enable him to support his family by making art instead of teaching it. He”s already picked up a small (but expensive!) gift for his long-suffering wife, and he knows just what he”ll get for his boy Johnny. Why not a little treat for himself? Clay’s feeling good about the future.

That changes in a hurry. The cause of the devastation is a phenomenon that will come to be known as The Pulse, and the delivery method is a cell phone. Everyone’s cell phone. Clay and the few desperate survivors who join him suddenly find themselves in the pitch-black night of civilization”s darkest age, surrounded by chaos, carnage, and a human horde that has been reduced to its basest nature…and then begins to evolve.

There are one hundred and ninety-three million cell phones in the United States alone. Who doesn”t have one? Stephen King’s utterly gripping, gory, and fascinating novel doesn’t just ask the question “Can you hear me now?”Β  It answers it with a vengeance.

I love the premise of Stephen King’s newest book, Cell.

Every time I see someone talking on a cell phone, I amuse myself knowing I’d be one of North America’s few survivors – that and by picturing them biting each other’s ears off.

About Angela

My name is Angela. I am a 28 year old psych and criminology graduate, but I'd rather not diagnose you. I am a cuddle-slut. I can recite the entire script of The Princess Bride, (including accents) and believe that the meaning of life is contained within. Polyanna, Snap.com commercials, and Oprah 'reunion shows' make me cry. I can whistle and hum at the same time, but I cannot touch my toes. I am an expert in both listening and talking. I look good in orange. I am a writer. I kick ass in Gin, Hearts, and Cribbage but I don't understand Canasta or Bridge. I can be heard singing Broadway numbers from my shower, and have dressed up as a viking princess, (complete with aluminum foil breast plate) The Phantom of the Opera, and a Ghostbuster for Hallowe'en. I have a bird named Bean. I have a brother named Adam. They are not related. I like vanilla body lotion, peanut butter, saunas, Jim Carrey, broccoli, pets, TheOnion.com, Muppets, Kevin Smith, Corelle dishes, dry erase white-boards, Barenaked Ladies, Philosophy, the letter J, Harry Potter, picture frames, swimming, quilting, Michael Moore, genealogy, Raggedy Anne, tacky 50's tchotchke, 'Idiot's Complete Guide To' books, tweezers, feather pillows, polar dips, aquariums, Martin Luther King Jr., and Dr. Pepper. I don't like meat, gossips, cooked carrots, American Idol, mosquitoes, sweating, politics, public washrooms, tardiness, tuition, hunting, pat answers, pick up lines, brown bananas, cliches, pine scented air freshener, Kevin Costner, bacon, candied apples, pro-wrestling, humidity, and hypocrisy. Books I've read recently The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy, The Dark Tower, When Nietzsche Wept, What's So Amazing About Grace?, Catcher in the Rye, Not Wanted On the Voyage, The Red Tent, The Little Prince, The Way the Crow Flies, Slaughterhouse-Five, The Poisonwood Bible, The Fall, The Knot of Vipers, Calculating God, The Chrysalids, Sick Puppy, Nineteen Eighty-Four, Franny and Zooey, The Brothers Karamazov, and jPod. I am slightly neurotic. No I'm not. Yes I am.

105 responses »

    • I dislike the idea of people being able to get in touch with me whenever and wherever I am.

      That, and I’m sure They use them to track your every movement.

      ~A

    • I dislike the idea of people being able to get in touch with me whenever and wherever I am.

      That, and I’m sure They use them to track your every movement.

      ~A

  1. I dislike the idea of people being able to get in touch with me whenever and wherever I am.

    That, and I’m sure They use them to track your every movement.

    ~A

  2. I dislike the idea of people being able to get in touch with me whenever and wherever I am.

    That, and I’m sure They use them to track your every movement.

    ~A

  3. I dislike the idea of people being able to get in touch with me whenever and wherever I am.

    That, and I’m sure They use them to track your every movement.

    ~A

    • I’ve been extremely delinquent when it comes to keeping up with my Flist, so no, I hadn’t caught it.

      I did go read, though, and I have to say, I agree 100%.

      The worst? The one’s with those Madonna-ear-attachments.

      Seriously? You need to wear your phone as an excessory?

      Yelch.

      ~A

    • I’ve been extremely delinquent when it comes to keeping up with my Flist, so no, I hadn’t caught it.

      I did go read, though, and I have to say, I agree 100%.

      The worst? The one’s with those Madonna-ear-attachments.

      Seriously? You need to wear your phone as an excessory?

      Yelch.

      ~A

  4. Is Canada behind the US when it comes to book publications? King has put out another awesome book since Cell called Lisey’s Story. Cell was great, don’t get me wrong but not nearly as good as LS.

  5. Is Canada behind the US when it comes to book publications? King has put out another awesome book since Cell called Lisey’s Story. Cell was great, don’t get me wrong but not nearly as good as LS.

  6. Is Canada behind the US when it comes to book publications? King has put out another awesome book since Cell called Lisey’s Story. Cell was great, don’t get me wrong but not nearly as good as LS.

  7. Is Canada behind the US when it comes to book publications? King has put out another awesome book since Cell called Lisey’s Story. Cell was great, don’t get me wrong but not nearly as good as LS.

  8. Is Canada behind the US when it comes to book publications? King has put out another awesome book since Cell called Lisey’s Story. Cell was great, don’t get me wrong but not nearly as good as LS.

    • I understand the ‘safety’ bit of cell phone use….just not the I’m-so-interesting-and-important-that-everyone-MUST-want-to-listen-in-on-my-loud-one-sided-conversations bit.

      Grr.

      ~A

    • I understand the ‘safety’ bit of cell phone use….just not the I’m-so-interesting-and-important-that-everyone-MUST-want-to-listen-in-on-my-loud-one-sided-conversations bit.

      Grr.

      ~A

  9. I understand the ‘safety’ bit of cell phone use….just not the I’m-so-interesting-and-important-that-everyone-MUST-want-to-listen-in-on-my-loud-one-sided-conversations bit.

    Grr.

    ~A

  10. I understand the ‘safety’ bit of cell phone use….just not the I’m-so-interesting-and-important-that-everyone-MUST-want-to-listen-in-on-my-loud-one-sided-conversations bit.

    Grr.

    ~A

  11. I understand the ‘safety’ bit of cell phone use….just not the I’m-so-interesting-and-important-that-everyone-MUST-want-to-listen-in-on-my-loud-one-sided-conversations bit.

    Grr.

    ~A

  12. *hangs head in shame*

    I atually enjoy doing laundry very much. The whole sorting, putting into piles and making sure to pull it out right away appeals greatly to the OCD issues I have.

    But I absolutely detest putting it away.

  13. *hangs head in shame*

    I atually enjoy doing laundry very much. The whole sorting, putting into piles and making sure to pull it out right away appeals greatly to the OCD issues I have.

    But I absolutely detest putting it away.

  14. *hangs head in shame*

    I atually enjoy doing laundry very much. The whole sorting, putting into piles and making sure to pull it out right away appeals greatly to the OCD issues I have.

    But I absolutely detest putting it away.

  15. I can never seen to get through all my laundry in one day.

    I inevitably forget a load in the washer that I find, stinking, days later.

    And don’t get me started on folding and putting away.

    Yelch.

    ~A

  16. I can never seen to get through all my laundry in one day.

    I inevitably forget a load in the washer that I find, stinking, days later.

    And don’t get me started on folding and putting away.

    Yelch.

    ~A

  17. I can never seen to get through all my laundry in one day.

    I inevitably forget a load in the washer that I find, stinking, days later.

    And don’t get me started on folding and putting away.

    Yelch.

    ~A

  18. If I didn’t have to work nights I could get it all in one day. That pesky, ‘having to leave the house at 3pm’ thing really gets in the way of getting stuff done.

  19. If I didn’t have to work nights I could get it all in one day. That pesky, ‘having to leave the house at 3pm’ thing really gets in the way of getting stuff done.

  20. If I didn’t have to work nights I could get it all in one day. That pesky, ‘having to leave the house at 3pm’ thing really gets in the way of getting stuff done.

  21. I’ve been extremely delinquent when it comes to keeping up with my Flist, so no, I hadn’t caught it.

    I did go read, though, and I have to say, I agree 100%.

    The worst? The one’s with those Madonna-ear-attachments.

    Seriously? You need to wear your phone as an excessory?

    Yelch.

    ~A

  22. I’ve been extremely delinquent when it comes to keeping up with my Flist, so no, I hadn’t caught it.

    I did go read, though, and I have to say, I agree 100%.

    The worst? The one’s with those Madonna-ear-attachments.

    Seriously? You need to wear your phone as an excessory?

    Yelch.

    ~A

  23. I’ve been extremely delinquent when it comes to keeping up with my Flist, so no, I hadn’t caught it.

    I did go read, though, and I have to say, I agree 100%.

    The worst? The one’s with those Madonna-ear-attachments.

    Seriously? You need to wear your phone as an excessory?

    Yelch.

    ~A

Leave a Reply

