Sleeping with the lights on

Standard

Someone please explain to me why I inevitably decide the best time to watch movies like Silence of the Lambs and The Exorcist are the nights Husband is out of town.

And why does the movie Hannibal make me think of Nikolas?

About Angela

My name is Angela. I am a 28 year old psych and criminology graduate, but I'd rather not diagnose you. I am a cuddle-slut. I can recite the entire script of The Princess Bride, (including accents) and believe that the meaning of life is contained within. Polyanna, Snap.com commercials, and Oprah 'reunion shows' make me cry. I can whistle and hum at the same time, but I cannot touch my toes. I am an expert in both listening and talking. I look good in orange. I am a writer. I kick ass in Gin, Hearts, and Cribbage but I don't understand Canasta or Bridge. I can be heard singing Broadway numbers from my shower, and have dressed up as a viking princess, (complete with aluminum foil breast plate) The Phantom of the Opera, and a Ghostbuster for Hallowe'en. I have a bird named Bean. I have a brother named Adam. They are not related. I like vanilla body lotion, peanut butter, saunas, Jim Carrey, broccoli, pets, TheOnion.com, Muppets, Kevin Smith, Corelle dishes, dry erase white-boards, Barenaked Ladies, Philosophy, the letter J, Harry Potter, picture frames, swimming, quilting, Michael Moore, genealogy, Raggedy Anne, tacky 50's tchotchke, 'Idiot's Complete Guide To' books, tweezers, feather pillows, polar dips, aquariums, Martin Luther King Jr., and Dr. Pepper. I don't like meat, gossips, cooked carrots, American Idol, mosquitoes, sweating, politics, public washrooms, tardiness, tuition, hunting, pat answers, pick up lines, brown bananas, cliches, pine scented air freshener, Kevin Costner, bacon, candied apples, pro-wrestling, humidity, and hypocrisy. Books I've read recently The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy, The Dark Tower, When Nietzsche Wept, What's So Amazing About Grace?, Catcher in the Rye, Not Wanted On the Voyage, The Red Tent, The Little Prince, The Way the Crow Flies, Slaughterhouse-Five, The Poisonwood Bible, The Fall, The Knot of Vipers, Calculating God, The Chrysalids, Sick Puppy, Nineteen Eighty-Four, Franny and Zooey, The Brothers Karamazov, and jPod. I am slightly neurotic. No I'm not. Yes I am.

50 responses »

  1. I can’t listen to the song “American Girl” anymore without shuddering. I used to yell “It rubs the lotion on its skin, or else it gets the hose again!” at my best friend as she’d be leaving my house at night. This was usually followed by a great deal of swearing (by her). As to why we do this to ourselves, perhaps we do it to get our heart rates up?

  2. I can’t listen to the song “American Girl” anymore without shuddering. I used to yell “It rubs the lotion on its skin, or else it gets the hose again!” at my best friend as she’d be leaving my house at night. This was usually followed by a great deal of swearing (by her). As to why we do this to ourselves, perhaps we do it to get our heart rates up?

  3. I can’t listen to the song “American Girl” anymore without shuddering. I used to yell “It rubs the lotion on its skin, or else it gets the hose again!” at my best friend as she’d be leaving my house at night. This was usually followed by a great deal of swearing (by her). As to why we do this to ourselves, perhaps we do it to get our heart rates up?

  4. I can’t listen to the song “American Girl” anymore without shuddering. I used to yell “It rubs the lotion on its skin, or else it gets the hose again!” at my best friend as she’d be leaving my house at night. This was usually followed by a great deal of swearing (by her). As to why we do this to ourselves, perhaps we do it to get our heart rates up?

  5. I can’t listen to the song “American Girl” anymore without shuddering. I used to yell “It rubs the lotion on its skin, or else it gets the hose again!” at my best friend as she’d be leaving my house at night. This was usually followed by a great deal of swearing (by her). As to why we do this to ourselves, perhaps we do it to get our heart rates up?

  6. Only if you explain to my why I still have nightmares about Hannibal, five years since I’ve seen a movie with him in it.

    Seriously-I haven’t seen “Hannibal” or “Red Dragon.” Just “Silence”, and it was enough.

  7. Only if you explain to my why I still have nightmares about Hannibal, five years since I’ve seen a movie with him in it.

    Seriously-I haven’t seen “Hannibal” or “Red Dragon.” Just “Silence”, and it was enough.

  8. Only if you explain to my why I still have nightmares about Hannibal, five years since I’ve seen a movie with him in it.

    Seriously-I haven’t seen “Hannibal” or “Red Dragon.” Just “Silence”, and it was enough.

  9. Only if you explain to my why I still have nightmares about Hannibal, five years since I’ve seen a movie with him in it.

    Seriously-I haven’t seen “Hannibal” or “Red Dragon.” Just “Silence”, and it was enough.

  10. Only if you explain to my why I still have nightmares about Hannibal, five years since I’ve seen a movie with him in it.

    Seriously-I haven’t seen “Hannibal” or “Red Dragon.” Just “Silence”, and it was enough.

      • If I had a husband who liked scary movies, I’d be in the room, but I’d spend the whole movie with my face burrowed against his arm. (I’m such a sissy.)

        But I don’t like to be scared in the first place. The Sixth Sense and Close Encounters are as scary as I can take, and even those are pushing it.

      • If I had a husband who liked scary movies, I’d be in the room, but I’d spend the whole movie with my face burrowed against his arm. (I’m such a sissy.)

        But I don’t like to be scared in the first place. The Sixth Sense and Close Encounters are as scary as I can take, and even those are pushing it.

  11. If I had a husband who liked scary movies, I’d be in the room, but I’d spend the whole movie with my face burrowed against his arm. (I’m such a sissy.)

    But I don’t like to be scared in the first place. The Sixth Sense and Close Encounters are as scary as I can take, and even those are pushing it.

  12. If I had a husband who liked scary movies, I’d be in the room, but I’d spend the whole movie with my face burrowed against his arm. (I’m such a sissy.)

    But I don’t like to be scared in the first place. The Sixth Sense and Close Encounters are as scary as I can take, and even those are pushing it.

  13. If I had a husband who liked scary movies, I’d be in the room, but I’d spend the whole movie with my face burrowed against his arm. (I’m such a sissy.)

    But I don’t like to be scared in the first place. The Sixth Sense and Close Encounters are as scary as I can take, and even those are pushing it.

  14. *snicker* I made that mistake when I watched The Ring – had to turn it off with 45 minutes to go and finish the next afternoon – with the window open so I could hear the kids and dogs playing in the yard behind my apartment building. 😛

  15. *snicker* I made that mistake when I watched The Ring – had to turn it off with 45 minutes to go and finish the next afternoon – with the window open so I could hear the kids and dogs playing in the yard behind my apartment building. 😛

  16. *snicker* I made that mistake when I watched The Ring – had to turn it off with 45 minutes to go and finish the next afternoon – with the window open so I could hear the kids and dogs playing in the yard behind my apartment building. 😛

  17. *snicker* I made that mistake when I watched The Ring – had to turn it off with 45 minutes to go and finish the next afternoon – with the window open so I could hear the kids and dogs playing in the yard behind my apartment building. 😛

  18. *snicker* I made that mistake when I watched The Ring – had to turn it off with 45 minutes to go and finish the next afternoon – with the window open so I could hear the kids and dogs playing in the yard behind my apartment building. 😛

Leave a Reply

