Mouth Owwie Update: III

Standard

So, actually feel WORSE this morning.

In pain.

Can’t open mouth.

Can’t close mouth*.

Can’t swallow properly*.

Dentist has upped the antibiotics** and I’m eating Advil by the mitt-ful**.

::whimpers::

Pity me.

* – new symptoms

** – difficult as can’t swallow properly.

About Angela

My name is Angela. I am a 28 year old psych and criminology graduate, but I'd rather not diagnose you. I am a cuddle-slut. I can recite the entire script of The Princess Bride, (including accents) and believe that the meaning of life is contained within. Polyanna, Snap.com commercials, and Oprah 'reunion shows' make me cry. I can whistle and hum at the same time, but I cannot touch my toes. I am an expert in both listening and talking. I look good in orange. I am a writer. I kick ass in Gin, Hearts, and Cribbage but I don't understand Canasta or Bridge. I can be heard singing Broadway numbers from my shower, and have dressed up as a viking princess, (complete with aluminum foil breast plate) The Phantom of the Opera, and a Ghostbuster for Hallowe'en. I have a bird named Bean. I have a brother named Adam. They are not related. I like vanilla body lotion, peanut butter, saunas, Jim Carrey, broccoli, pets, TheOnion.com, Muppets, Kevin Smith, Corelle dishes, dry erase white-boards, Barenaked Ladies, Philosophy, the letter J, Harry Potter, picture frames, swimming, quilting, Michael Moore, genealogy, Raggedy Anne, tacky 50's tchotchke, 'Idiot's Complete Guide To' books, tweezers, feather pillows, polar dips, aquariums, Martin Luther King Jr., and Dr. Pepper. I don't like meat, gossips, cooked carrots, American Idol, mosquitoes, sweating, politics, public washrooms, tardiness, tuition, hunting, pat answers, pick up lines, brown bananas, cliches, pine scented air freshener, Kevin Costner, bacon, candied apples, pro-wrestling, humidity, and hypocrisy. Books I've read recently The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy, The Dark Tower, When Nietzsche Wept, What's So Amazing About Grace?, Catcher in the Rye, Not Wanted On the Voyage, The Red Tent, The Little Prince, The Way the Crow Flies, Slaughterhouse-Five, The Poisonwood Bible, The Fall, The Knot of Vipers, Calculating God, The Chrysalids, Sick Puppy, Nineteen Eighty-Four, Franny and Zooey, The Brothers Karamazov, and jPod. I am slightly neurotic. No I'm not. Yes I am.

125 responses »

  1. I’m pretty sure the dentist thinks I’m faking it.

    “Could you at least TRY to open up a bit wider?”

    Grrr.

    So, yah, the answer is no on that one.

    I think the Advil is helping a little. I’m finding it easier to swallow.

    ~A

  2. I’m pretty sure the dentist thinks I’m faking it.

    “Could you at least TRY to open up a bit wider?”

    Grrr.

    So, yah, the answer is no on that one.

    I think the Advil is helping a little. I’m finding it easier to swallow.

    ~A

  3. I’m pretty sure the dentist thinks I’m faking it.

    “Could you at least TRY to open up a bit wider?”

    Grrr.

    So, yah, the answer is no on that one.

    I think the Advil is helping a little. I’m finding it easier to swallow.

    ~A

  4. I’m pretty sure the dentist thinks I’m faking it.

    “Could you at least TRY to open up a bit wider?”

    Grrr.

    So, yah, the answer is no on that one.

    I think the Advil is helping a little. I’m finding it easier to swallow.

    ~A

  5. Perhaps its a failsafe. That way, if you don’t get better immediately (i.e., meaning that you need more potent meds)you are guaranteed to come back. Or maybe he’s one of those evil dentists who’s never had so much as a cavity and just doesn’t get it (see “male OBGYN”). Regardless of motive, he is a sadist not to give you pain meds on your second visit. Still, I am glad he upped the potency of your antibiotics. A dentist who was both a dolt and a sadist would be ultra miserable. I hope you feel better soon!

  6. Perhaps its a failsafe. That way, if you don’t get better immediately (i.e., meaning that you need more potent meds)you are guaranteed to come back. Or maybe he’s one of those evil dentists who’s never had so much as a cavity and just doesn’t get it (see “male OBGYN”). Regardless of motive, he is a sadist not to give you pain meds on your second visit. Still, I am glad he upped the potency of your antibiotics. A dentist who was both a dolt and a sadist would be ultra miserable. I hope you feel better soon!

  7. Perhaps its a failsafe. That way, if you don’t get better immediately (i.e., meaning that you need more potent meds)you are guaranteed to come back. Or maybe he’s one of those evil dentists who’s never had so much as a cavity and just doesn’t get it (see “male OBGYN”). Regardless of motive, he is a sadist not to give you pain meds on your second visit. Still, I am glad he upped the potency of your antibiotics. A dentist who was both a dolt and a sadist would be ultra miserable. I hope you feel better soon!

  8. Perhaps its a failsafe. That way, if you don’t get better immediately (i.e., meaning that you need more potent meds)you are guaranteed to come back. Or maybe he’s one of those evil dentists who’s never had so much as a cavity and just doesn’t get it (see “male OBGYN”). Regardless of motive, he is a sadist not to give you pain meds on your second visit. Still, I am glad he upped the potency of your antibiotics. A dentist who was both a dolt and a sadist would be ultra miserable. I hope you feel better soon!

  9. Perhaps its a failsafe. That way, if you don’t get better immediately (i.e., meaning that you need more potent meds)you are guaranteed to come back. Or maybe he’s one of those evil dentists who’s never had so much as a cavity and just doesn’t get it (see “male OBGYN”). Regardless of motive, he is a sadist not to give you pain meds on your second visit. Still, I am glad he upped the potency of your antibiotics. A dentist who was both a dolt and a sadist would be ultra miserable. I hope you feel better soon!

  10. If it’s an abscess, has the dentist suggested washing out your mouth with very warm salt water? Sounds benign, I know, but it has helped me with inflammation and if you *do* swallow some, it won’t kill ya! ;o)
    Hope you feel much better soon, hon! ::hugz::

  11. If it’s an abscess, has the dentist suggested washing out your mouth with very warm salt water? Sounds benign, I know, but it has helped me with inflammation and if you *do* swallow some, it won’t kill ya! ;o)
    Hope you feel much better soon, hon! ::hugz::

    • Yeah, he did suggest salt water rinses.

      They’re gross, but I’ve been doing them.

      I don’t know if it’s helping, though.

      ~A

      PS. Thanks for the hugs.

  12. If it’s an abscess, has the dentist suggested washing out your mouth with very warm salt water? Sounds benign, I know, but it has helped me with inflammation and if you *do* swallow some, it won’t kill ya! ;o)
    Hope you feel much better soon, hon! ::hugz::

  13. If it’s an abscess, has the dentist suggested washing out your mouth with very warm salt water? Sounds benign, I know, but it has helped me with inflammation and if you *do* swallow some, it won’t kill ya! ;o)
    Hope you feel much better soon, hon! ::hugz::

  14. If it’s an abscess, has the dentist suggested washing out your mouth with very warm salt water? Sounds benign, I know, but it has helped me with inflammation and if you *do* swallow some, it won’t kill ya! ;o)
    Hope you feel much better soon, hon! ::hugz::

  15. Yeah, he did suggest salt water rinses.

    They’re gross, but I’ve been doing them.

    I don’t know if it’s helping, though.

    ~A

    PS. Thanks for the hugs.

  16. Yeah, he did suggest salt water rinses.

    They’re gross, but I’ve been doing them.

    I don’t know if it’s helping, though.

    ~A

    PS. Thanks for the hugs.

  17. Yeah, he did suggest salt water rinses.

    They’re gross, but I’ve been doing them.

    I don’t know if it’s helping, though.

    ~A

    PS. Thanks for the hugs.

  18. Yeah, he did suggest salt water rinses.

    They’re gross, but I’ve been doing them.

    I don’t know if it’s helping, though.

    ~A

    PS. Thanks for the hugs.

  19. My family doctor advised me to take 600mg of ibuprofen for pain every 4-6 hours. When I was practising as a midwife, some women took up to 1,200 mg every 6 hours for severe afterpains and this was effective and they told me that it was better than tylenol 3. Tylenol 1’s are available over the counter- they have 8mg of codeine in each. Watch out for tylenol though, it is hard on the liver, you should not take more than 4,000 mg in a 24 hour period.

    I’m sorry your tooth is hurting you so badly. The antibiotics need some time to work, you might add some vit c and use local ice or heat to ease the pain.

  20. My family doctor advised me to take 600mg of ibuprofen for pain every 4-6 hours. When I was practising as a midwife, some women took up to 1,200 mg every 6 hours for severe afterpains and this was effective and they told me that it was better than tylenol 3. Tylenol 1’s are available over the counter- they have 8mg of codeine in each. Watch out for tylenol though, it is hard on the liver, you should not take more than 4,000 mg in a 24 hour period.

    I’m sorry your tooth is hurting you so badly. The antibiotics need some time to work, you might add some vit c and use local ice or heat to ease the pain.

    • yep – the ibuprofen the dentist gave me was 650mg per pill. And I was allowed to take up to TWO every 4 hours.

      So, load up on that stuff … (just make sure you take it with food)

      • I kick myself now for being so stupid, but Wednesday (read: Day of Much Pain) I was taking three~ish 400mg Advil (the REALLY strong ones) every four hours (give or take).

        The odd thing?

        The pain never really went away.

        ~A

  21. My family doctor advised me to take 600mg of ibuprofen for pain every 4-6 hours. When I was practising as a midwife, some women took up to 1,200 mg every 6 hours for severe afterpains and this was effective and they told me that it was better than tylenol 3. Tylenol 1’s are available over the counter- they have 8mg of codeine in each. Watch out for tylenol though, it is hard on the liver, you should not take more than 4,000 mg in a 24 hour period.

    I’m sorry your tooth is hurting you so badly. The antibiotics need some time to work, you might add some vit c and use local ice or heat to ease the pain.

  22. My family doctor advised me to take 600mg of ibuprofen for pain every 4-6 hours. When I was practising as a midwife, some women took up to 1,200 mg every 6 hours for severe afterpains and this was effective and they told me that it was better than tylenol 3. Tylenol 1’s are available over the counter- they have 8mg of codeine in each. Watch out for tylenol though, it is hard on the liver, you should not take more than 4,000 mg in a 24 hour period.

    I’m sorry your tooth is hurting you so badly. The antibiotics need some time to work, you might add some vit c and use local ice or heat to ease the pain.

  23. My family doctor advised me to take 600mg of ibuprofen for pain every 4-6 hours. When I was practising as a midwife, some women took up to 1,200 mg every 6 hours for severe afterpains and this was effective and they told me that it was better than tylenol 3. Tylenol 1’s are available over the counter- they have 8mg of codeine in each. Watch out for tylenol though, it is hard on the liver, you should not take more than 4,000 mg in a 24 hour period.

    I’m sorry your tooth is hurting you so badly. The antibiotics need some time to work, you might add some vit c and use local ice or heat to ease the pain.

  24. yep – the ibuprofen the dentist gave me was 650mg per pill. And I was allowed to take up to TWO every 4 hours.

    So, load up on that stuff … (just make sure you take it with food)

  25. yep – the ibuprofen the dentist gave me was 650mg per pill. And I was allowed to take up to TWO every 4 hours.

    So, load up on that stuff … (just make sure you take it with food)

  26. yep – the ibuprofen the dentist gave me was 650mg per pill. And I was allowed to take up to TWO every 4 hours.

    So, load up on that stuff … (just make sure you take it with food)

  27. yep – the ibuprofen the dentist gave me was 650mg per pill. And I was allowed to take up to TWO every 4 hours.

    So, load up on that stuff … (just make sure you take it with food)

  28. I kick myself now for being so stupid, but Wednesday (read: Day of Much Pain) I was taking three~ish 400mg Advil (the REALLY strong ones) every four hours (give or take).

    The odd thing?

    The pain never really went away.

    ~A

  29. I kick myself now for being so stupid, but Wednesday (read: Day of Much Pain) I was taking three~ish 400mg Advil (the REALLY strong ones) every four hours (give or take).

    The odd thing?

    The pain never really went away.

    ~A

  30. I kick myself now for being so stupid, but Wednesday (read: Day of Much Pain) I was taking three~ish 400mg Advil (the REALLY strong ones) every four hours (give or take).

    The odd thing?

    The pain never really went away.

    ~A

  31. I kick myself now for being so stupid, but Wednesday (read: Day of Much Pain) I was taking three~ish 400mg Advil (the REALLY strong ones) every four hours (give or take).

    The odd thing?

    The pain never really went away.

    ~A

Leave a Reply

