Mmmuffins

Standard

I’m making muffins for VBS (more on me being roped in to that nightmare later).

I love this recipe.

AZ MUFFINS
Yields 1 dozen

2 cups flour
3/4 cup sugar (or substitute)
2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
3 eggs (or substitute)
1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
1/2 cup milk (or substitute)
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
2 cups apples, peeled and chopped
2 cups zucchini (or carrot or beet), grated
1/2 cup flaked coconut
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup almonds, sliced

  • Pre-heat oven to 375ºF.
  • In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.
  • In another bowl, beat eggs; add oil, milk and vanilla. Mix well.
  • Stir egg mixture into dry ingredients just until moistened.
  • Fold in the remaining ingredients.
  • Fill the lightly greased muffin tin ¾ full.
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes or until muffins test done.
About Angela

My name is Angela. I am a 28 year old psych and criminology graduate, but I'd rather not diagnose you. I am a cuddle-slut. I can recite the entire script of The Princess Bride, (including accents) and believe that the meaning of life is contained within. Polyanna, Snap.com commercials, and Oprah 'reunion shows' make me cry. I can whistle and hum at the same time, but I cannot touch my toes. I am an expert in both listening and talking. I look good in orange. I am a writer. I kick ass in Gin, Hearts, and Cribbage but I don't understand Canasta or Bridge. I can be heard singing Broadway numbers from my shower, and have dressed up as a viking princess, (complete with aluminum foil breast plate) The Phantom of the Opera, and a Ghostbuster for Hallowe'en. I have a bird named Bean. I have a brother named Adam. They are not related. I like vanilla body lotion, peanut butter, saunas, Jim Carrey, broccoli, pets, TheOnion.com, Muppets, Kevin Smith, Corelle dishes, dry erase white-boards, Barenaked Ladies, Philosophy, the letter J, Harry Potter, picture frames, swimming, quilting, Michael Moore, genealogy, Raggedy Anne, tacky 50's tchotchke, 'Idiot's Complete Guide To' books, tweezers, feather pillows, polar dips, aquariums, Martin Luther King Jr., and Dr. Pepper. I don't like meat, gossips, cooked carrots, American Idol, mosquitoes, sweating, politics, public washrooms, tardiness, tuition, hunting, pat answers, pick up lines, brown bananas, cliches, pine scented air freshener, Kevin Costner, bacon, candied apples, pro-wrestling, humidity, and hypocrisy. Books I've read recently The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy, The Dark Tower, When Nietzsche Wept, What's So Amazing About Grace?, Catcher in the Rye, Not Wanted On the Voyage, The Red Tent, The Little Prince, The Way the Crow Flies, Slaughterhouse-Five, The Poisonwood Bible, The Fall, The Knot of Vipers, Calculating God, The Chrysalids, Sick Puppy, Nineteen Eighty-Four, Franny and Zooey, The Brothers Karamazov, and jPod. I am slightly neurotic. No I'm not. Yes I am.

55 responses »

  1. Oooh, yummy!

    This will probably be the only way I’ll ever get my sons to eat zucchini! I’m going to try this when I can eat crunchy food again, or can I just ignore the almonds?

  2. Oooh, yummy!

    This will probably be the only way I’ll ever get my sons to eat zucchini! I’m going to try this when I can eat crunchy food again, or can I just ignore the almonds?

  3. Oooh, yummy!

    This will probably be the only way I’ll ever get my sons to eat zucchini! I’m going to try this when I can eat crunchy food again, or can I just ignore the almonds?

  4. Oooh, yummy!

    This will probably be the only way I’ll ever get my sons to eat zucchini! I’m going to try this when I can eat crunchy food again, or can I just ignore the almonds?

  5. Oooh, yummy!

    This will probably be the only way I’ll ever get my sons to eat zucchini! I’m going to try this when I can eat crunchy food again, or can I just ignore the almonds?

  6. Personally, I love nuts…

    [insert smirk here]

    …so what you’re saying is blasphemous to me.

    However, if it means you’re able to partake of this lovely treat sooner, do whatever you need to.

    ~Angela

  7. Personally, I love nuts…

    [insert smirk here]

    …so what you’re saying is blasphemous to me.

    However, if it means you’re able to partake of this lovely treat sooner, do whatever you need to.

    ~Angela

  8. Personally, I love nuts…

    [insert smirk here]

    …so what you’re saying is blasphemous to me.

    However, if it means you’re able to partake of this lovely treat sooner, do whatever you need to.

    ~Angela

  9. Personally, I love nuts…

    [insert smirk here]

    …so what you’re saying is blasphemous to me.

    However, if it means you’re able to partake of this lovely treat sooner, do whatever you need to.

    ~Angela

  10. Personally, I love nuts…

    [insert smirk here]

    …so what you’re saying is blasphemous to me.

    However, if it means you’re able to partake of this lovely treat sooner, do whatever you need to.

    ~Angela

  11. ::snicker::

    I’m a nut girl as well… all sorts of nuts. I even eat my oatmeal with pecans and raisins. But I can’t crunch anything at the moment.

    Still… If the weather remains as balmy as it’s been, I’ll be making these tasty morsels later this week.

  12. ::snicker::

    I’m a nut girl as well… all sorts of nuts. I even eat my oatmeal with pecans and raisins. But I can’t crunch anything at the moment.

    Still… If the weather remains as balmy as it’s been, I’ll be making these tasty morsels later this week.

  13. ::snicker::

    I’m a nut girl as well… all sorts of nuts. I even eat my oatmeal with pecans and raisins. But I can’t crunch anything at the moment.

    Still… If the weather remains as balmy as it’s been, I’ll be making these tasty morsels later this week.

  14. ::snicker::

    I’m a nut girl as well… all sorts of nuts. I even eat my oatmeal with pecans and raisins. But I can’t crunch anything at the moment.

    Still… If the weather remains as balmy as it’s been, I’ll be making these tasty morsels later this week.

  15. ::snicker::

    I’m a nut girl as well… all sorts of nuts. I even eat my oatmeal with pecans and raisins. But I can’t crunch anything at the moment.

    Still… If the weather remains as balmy as it’s been, I’ll be making these tasty morsels later this week.

  16. I put nuts in just about everything.

    From breakfast to salad to dessert.

    Mmm.

    All I can say is “thank goodness I’m not allergic”.

    ~Angela

    PS. You don’t want to be baking if it’s hot, though. Maybe save it for a chilly day.

  17. I put nuts in just about everything.

    From breakfast to salad to dessert.

    Mmm.

    All I can say is “thank goodness I’m not allergic”.

    ~Angela

    PS. You don’t want to be baking if it’s hot, though. Maybe save it for a chilly day.

  18. I put nuts in just about everything.

    From breakfast to salad to dessert.

    Mmm.

    All I can say is “thank goodness I’m not allergic”.

    ~Angela

    PS. You don’t want to be baking if it’s hot, though. Maybe save it for a chilly day.

  19. I put nuts in just about everything.

    From breakfast to salad to dessert.

    Mmm.

    All I can say is “thank goodness I’m not allergic”.

    ~Angela

    PS. You don’t want to be baking if it’s hot, though. Maybe save it for a chilly day.

  20. I put nuts in just about everything.

    From breakfast to salad to dessert.

    Mmm.

    All I can say is “thank goodness I’m not allergic”.

    ~Angela

    PS. You don’t want to be baking if it’s hot, though. Maybe save it for a chilly day.

  21. Hmm. I can’t really help you with that one. I’ve never tried freezing them…they never last that long.

    As for the house: We get the keys on the 21st of August (this coming Monday).

    VERY. EXCITED.

    ~A

  22. Hmm. I can’t really help you with that one. I’ve never tried freezing them…they never last that long.

    As for the house: We get the keys on the 21st of August (this coming Monday).

    VERY. EXCITED.

    ~A

  23. Hmm. I can’t really help you with that one. I’ve never tried freezing them…they never last that long.

    As for the house: We get the keys on the 21st of August (this coming Monday).

    VERY. EXCITED.

    ~A

  24. Hmm. I can’t really help you with that one. I’ve never tried freezing them…they never last that long.

    As for the house: We get the keys on the 21st of August (this coming Monday).

    VERY. EXCITED.

    ~A

  25. Hmm. I can’t really help you with that one. I’ve never tried freezing them…they never last that long.

    As for the house: We get the keys on the 21st of August (this coming Monday).

    VERY. EXCITED.

    ~A

  26. Next week? How absolutely wonderful for you. I’m sure you’re incredibly eager to get in the house to start making it yours.

    After I asked the question about the muffins freezing, I realized the silliness of the question, but I was crawling into bed at that point and not really wanting to boot up the laptop again.

    Oh, and I read that you didn’t see Riley on your last Light House trip. I’m so sorry to hear that, but if he’s having a hard time, that makes sense, he may not want you to see him like that… unfortunately. It reminds me a little of feral animals (from my zoo days.) When they’re ill or wounded they retreat.

    I hope he’s in a better place the next time you go out.

  27. Next week? How absolutely wonderful for you. I’m sure you’re incredibly eager to get in the house to start making it yours.

    After I asked the question about the muffins freezing, I realized the silliness of the question, but I was crawling into bed at that point and not really wanting to boot up the laptop again.

    Oh, and I read that you didn’t see Riley on your last Light House trip. I’m so sorry to hear that, but if he’s having a hard time, that makes sense, he may not want you to see him like that… unfortunately. It reminds me a little of feral animals (from my zoo days.) When they’re ill or wounded they retreat.

    I hope he’s in a better place the next time you go out.

  28. Next week? How absolutely wonderful for you. I’m sure you’re incredibly eager to get in the house to start making it yours.

    After I asked the question about the muffins freezing, I realized the silliness of the question, but I was crawling into bed at that point and not really wanting to boot up the laptop again.

    Oh, and I read that you didn’t see Riley on your last Light House trip. I’m so sorry to hear that, but if he’s having a hard time, that makes sense, he may not want you to see him like that… unfortunately. It reminds me a little of feral animals (from my zoo days.) When they’re ill or wounded they retreat.

    I hope he’s in a better place the next time you go out.

  29. Next week? How absolutely wonderful for you. I’m sure you’re incredibly eager to get in the house to start making it yours.

    After I asked the question about the muffins freezing, I realized the silliness of the question, but I was crawling into bed at that point and not really wanting to boot up the laptop again.

    Oh, and I read that you didn’t see Riley on your last Light House trip. I’m so sorry to hear that, but if he’s having a hard time, that makes sense, he may not want you to see him like that… unfortunately. It reminds me a little of feral animals (from my zoo days.) When they’re ill or wounded they retreat.

    I hope he’s in a better place the next time you go out.

  30. Next week? How absolutely wonderful for you. I’m sure you’re incredibly eager to get in the house to start making it yours.

    After I asked the question about the muffins freezing, I realized the silliness of the question, but I was crawling into bed at that point and not really wanting to boot up the laptop again.

    Oh, and I read that you didn’t see Riley on your last Light House trip. I’m so sorry to hear that, but if he’s having a hard time, that makes sense, he may not want you to see him like that… unfortunately. It reminds me a little of feral animals (from my zoo days.) When they’re ill or wounded they retreat.

    I hope he’s in a better place the next time you go out.

  31. Yup…six more sleeps.

    Yay!

    Our friends have been very gracious, but I’m SO ready to have my own space again.

    As for Light Patrol, I’m out again tonight, so hopefully I’ll see him then.

    I don’t know in what manner he was not ‘doing well’ in, but I do know that they bulldozed his place under the Gardiner Bridge, so that’s my guess.

    ~A

    PS. You worked at a ZOO?!? You are so cool.

  32. Yup…six more sleeps.

    Yay!

    Our friends have been very gracious, but I’m SO ready to have my own space again.

    As for Light Patrol, I’m out again tonight, so hopefully I’ll see him then.

    I don’t know in what manner he was not ‘doing well’ in, but I do know that they bulldozed his place under the Gardiner Bridge, so that’s my guess.

    ~A

    PS. You worked at a ZOO?!? You are so cool.

  33. Yup…six more sleeps.

    Yay!

    Our friends have been very gracious, but I’m SO ready to have my own space again.

    As for Light Patrol, I’m out again tonight, so hopefully I’ll see him then.

    I don’t know in what manner he was not ‘doing well’ in, but I do know that they bulldozed his place under the Gardiner Bridge, so that’s my guess.

    ~A

    PS. You worked at a ZOO?!? You are so cool.

  34. Yup…six more sleeps.

    Yay!

    Our friends have been very gracious, but I’m SO ready to have my own space again.

    As for Light Patrol, I’m out again tonight, so hopefully I’ll see him then.

    I don’t know in what manner he was not ‘doing well’ in, but I do know that they bulldozed his place under the Gardiner Bridge, so that’s my guess.

    ~A

    PS. You worked at a ZOO?!? You are so cool.

  35. Yup…six more sleeps.

    Yay!

    Our friends have been very gracious, but I’m SO ready to have my own space again.

    As for Light Patrol, I’m out again tonight, so hopefully I’ll see him then.

    I don’t know in what manner he was not ‘doing well’ in, but I do know that they bulldozed his place under the Gardiner Bridge, so that’s my guess.

    ~A

    PS. You worked at a ZOO?!? You are so cool.

  36. I giggled when you already had begun the countdown of sleeps to go before you’re in your own space.

    Light Patrol… Light Patrol. I have to remember the name. On the one hand, I understand why the government bulldozes the places, but on the other it makes me very sad to see displaced people even more displaced. Good luck tonight.

    ::blushes:: Yeah, I worked at the local Zoo as a volunteer while I was a teenager. One of my dear friends, who is now a veterinary oncologist, was working there and she sucked me in. It was great. I loved the animals… well except the rabbits and the camels. UGH! Rabbits are just… eeew… and the camels spit!

  37. I giggled when you already had begun the countdown of sleeps to go before you’re in your own space.

    Light Patrol… Light Patrol. I have to remember the name. On the one hand, I understand why the government bulldozes the places, but on the other it makes me very sad to see displaced people even more displaced. Good luck tonight.

    ::blushes:: Yeah, I worked at the local Zoo as a volunteer while I was a teenager. One of my dear friends, who is now a veterinary oncologist, was working there and she sucked me in. It was great. I loved the animals… well except the rabbits and the camels. UGH! Rabbits are just… eeew… and the camels spit!

  38. I giggled when you already had begun the countdown of sleeps to go before you’re in your own space.

    Light Patrol… Light Patrol. I have to remember the name. On the one hand, I understand why the government bulldozes the places, but on the other it makes me very sad to see displaced people even more displaced. Good luck tonight.

    ::blushes:: Yeah, I worked at the local Zoo as a volunteer while I was a teenager. One of my dear friends, who is now a veterinary oncologist, was working there and she sucked me in. It was great. I loved the animals… well except the rabbits and the camels. UGH! Rabbits are just… eeew… and the camels spit!

  39. I giggled when you already had begun the countdown of sleeps to go before you’re in your own space.

    Light Patrol… Light Patrol. I have to remember the name. On the one hand, I understand why the government bulldozes the places, but on the other it makes me very sad to see displaced people even more displaced. Good luck tonight.

    ::blushes:: Yeah, I worked at the local Zoo as a volunteer while I was a teenager. One of my dear friends, who is now a veterinary oncologist, was working there and she sucked me in. It was great. I loved the animals… well except the rabbits and the camels. UGH! Rabbits are just… eeew… and the camels spit!

  40. I giggled when you already had begun the countdown of sleeps to go before you’re in your own space.

    Light Patrol… Light Patrol. I have to remember the name. On the one hand, I understand why the government bulldozes the places, but on the other it makes me very sad to see displaced people even more displaced. Good luck tonight.

    ::blushes:: Yeah, I worked at the local Zoo as a volunteer while I was a teenager. One of my dear friends, who is now a veterinary oncologist, was working there and she sucked me in. It was great. I loved the animals… well except the rabbits and the camels. UGH! Rabbits are just… eeew… and the camels spit!

Leave a Reply

