That’s amore

Standard

So, the Social Action Committee at our church is doing a fund raising dinner for HOPE for AIDS in Africa.

I, the token veg*n, got suckered into making veggie lasagna.

Naturally, I decided on the most expensive and time consuming recipe I could find.

But DAMN is it tasty.

I amuse myself with the knowledge that the bottled tomato sauce I used contains red wine.  I’m serving alcohol to Baptists.  Snerk.

For those interested, here’s the recipe:

Punk Rock Pesto Lasagna

Punk Rock Pesto
½-350g pkg extra firm tofu, drained
2 cups basil leaves
4 – 6 garlic cloves
2 large tomatoes, chopped
1/3 cup olive oil
¼ cup pine nuts
1/3 cup faux parmesan

Cashew Pimento Sauce
1 ½ cup raw cashews
4 tbsp nutritional yeast
1 cup water
1/3 cup olive oil
½ tsp salt
¼ cup lemon juice
2 tsp onion powder
4-6 pimentos
2 tbsp soy milk powder

1 purple onion, diced
4 cups fresh mushrooms, chopped
1 red pepper, diced
1 eggplant, peeled and thickly sliced
1 lb Punk Rock Pesto
3 cups fresh spinach, steamed, drained and chopped
1 zucchini, shredded
1/2-350g pkg extra firm tofu, drained (optional)
9 lasagne noodles, cooked al dente
1 ½ jars spaghetti sauce
Faux parmesan, for garnish

  • Preheat oven to 425°F.
  • To make the Punk Rock Pesto, combine all ingredients to a food processor and pulse until well combined.  Set aside.
  • To make the Cashew Pimento Sauce, combine all ingredients to a food processor and pulse until well combined.  Set aside.
  • In a large skillet, sauté the onion, mushrooms and pepper until onions are soft and translucent.  Set aside.
  • Grill eggplant slices on both sides until soft and golden brown.  Set aside.
  • Combine pesto, spinach, zucchini and tofu.
  • Layer a 9”x13” lasagna pan with spaghetti sauce.  Add a layer (3) of noodles.  Spread a layer of the Cashew Sauce over the top.  Cover with ½ the onion mixture.  Cover with a layer of the tofu pesto mixture.  Add a layer of eggplant slices.
  • Repeat above instructions, then layer with more noodles, top with the more Cashew Sauce, cover liberally with spaghetti sauce then sprinkle with lots of parmesan.
  • Bake uncovered for 25 minutes.

***Just a note:  The recipe makes much more pesto than you’ll need.  I’ll have to fiddle with it to get it more exact.  Anyhow, it just means more pesto for other yummy recipes.

About Angela

My name is Angela. I am a 28 year old psych and criminology graduate, but I'd rather not diagnose you. I am a cuddle-slut. I can recite the entire script of The Princess Bride, (including accents) and believe that the meaning of life is contained within. Polyanna, Snap.com commercials, and Oprah 'reunion shows' make me cry. I can whistle and hum at the same time, but I cannot touch my toes. I am an expert in both listening and talking. I look good in orange. I am a writer. I kick ass in Gin, Hearts, and Cribbage but I don't understand Canasta or Bridge. I can be heard singing Broadway numbers from my shower, and have dressed up as a viking princess, (complete with aluminum foil breast plate) The Phantom of the Opera, and a Ghostbuster for Hallowe'en. I have a bird named Bean. I have a brother named Adam. They are not related. I like vanilla body lotion, peanut butter, saunas, Jim Carrey, broccoli, pets, TheOnion.com, Muppets, Kevin Smith, Corelle dishes, dry erase white-boards, Barenaked Ladies, Philosophy, the letter J, Harry Potter, picture frames, swimming, quilting, Michael Moore, genealogy, Raggedy Anne, tacky 50's tchotchke, 'Idiot's Complete Guide To' books, tweezers, feather pillows, polar dips, aquariums, Martin Luther King Jr., and Dr. Pepper. I don't like meat, gossips, cooked carrots, American Idol, mosquitoes, sweating, politics, public washrooms, tardiness, tuition, hunting, pat answers, pick up lines, brown bananas, cliches, pine scented air freshener, Kevin Costner, bacon, candied apples, pro-wrestling, humidity, and hypocrisy. Books I've read recently The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy, The Dark Tower, When Nietzsche Wept, What's So Amazing About Grace?, Catcher in the Rye, Not Wanted On the Voyage, The Red Tent, The Little Prince, The Way the Crow Flies, Slaughterhouse-Five, The Poisonwood Bible, The Fall, The Knot of Vipers, Calculating God, The Chrysalids, Sick Puppy, Nineteen Eighty-Four, Franny and Zooey, The Brothers Karamazov, and jPod. I am slightly neurotic. No I'm not. Yes I am.

38 responses »

  1. You do know that made me drool here and I just had dinner! Recipe is hitting memories tonight for the next time Roomie(the carnivore!) is out of town.

  2. You do know that made me drool here and I just had dinner! Recipe is hitting memories tonight for the next time Roomie(the carnivore!) is out of town.

  3. You do know that made me drool here and I just had dinner! Recipe is hitting memories tonight for the next time Roomie(the carnivore!) is out of town.

  4. You do know that made me drool here and I just had dinner! Recipe is hitting memories tonight for the next time Roomie(the carnivore!) is out of town.

  5. For the love of carnies

    It tastes just as good (and as ‘cheesy’) as it looks. I know that sounds horribly immodest, but it’s true.

    Just note the few changes I’ve added since posting. I forgot to include the tomatoes in the PRPesto recipe and the oven temp is supposed to be 425*F.

    Enjoy!

    ~Angela

    PS. This recipe just might convert that roommate of yours. 😉

  6. For the love of carnies

    It tastes just as good (and as ‘cheesy’) as it looks. I know that sounds horribly immodest, but it’s true.

    Just note the few changes I’ve added since posting. I forgot to include the tomatoes in the PRPesto recipe and the oven temp is supposed to be 425*F.

    Enjoy!

    ~Angela

    PS. This recipe just might convert that roommate of yours. 😉

  7. For the love of carnies

    It tastes just as good (and as ‘cheesy’) as it looks. I know that sounds horribly immodest, but it’s true.

    Just note the few changes I’ve added since posting. I forgot to include the tomatoes in the PRPesto recipe and the oven temp is supposed to be 425*F.

    Enjoy!

    ~Angela

    PS. This recipe just might convert that roommate of yours. 😉

  8. For the love of carnies

    It tastes just as good (and as ‘cheesy’) as it looks. I know that sounds horribly immodest, but it’s true.

    Just note the few changes I’ve added since posting. I forgot to include the tomatoes in the PRPesto recipe and the oven temp is supposed to be 425*F.

    Enjoy!

    ~Angela

    PS. This recipe just might convert that roommate of yours. 😉

      • *pouts* The problem is that, right now, I can’t eat tomate sauce or pasta. (But I can take all the meat and vegetables I want to) but! after the diet…. muahahahaw I’ll eat pastaand delicious lasagna like yours.

      • No tomato sauce?

        I’ve never heard of a diet nixing tomatoes…other than those for arthritics.

        Hmm.

        Anyhow, when you DO get around to making it, let me know what you think.

        ~A

  9. *pouts* The problem is that, right now, I can’t eat tomate sauce or pasta. (But I can take all the meat and vegetables I want to) but! after the diet…. muahahahaw I’ll eat pastaand delicious lasagna like yours.

  10. *pouts* The problem is that, right now, I can’t eat tomate sauce or pasta. (But I can take all the meat and vegetables I want to) but! after the diet…. muahahahaw I’ll eat pastaand delicious lasagna like yours.

  11. *pouts* The problem is that, right now, I can’t eat tomate sauce or pasta. (But I can take all the meat and vegetables I want to) but! after the diet…. muahahahaw I’ll eat pastaand delicious lasagna like yours.

  12. *pouts* The problem is that, right now, I can’t eat tomate sauce or pasta. (But I can take all the meat and vegetables I want to) but! after the diet…. muahahahaw I’ll eat pastaand delicious lasagna like yours.

  13. No tomato sauce?

    I’ve never heard of a diet nixing tomatoes…other than those for arthritics.

    Hmm.

    Anyhow, when you DO get around to making it, let me know what you think.

    ~A

  14. No tomato sauce?

    I’ve never heard of a diet nixing tomatoes…other than those for arthritics.

    Hmm.

    Anyhow, when you DO get around to making it, let me know what you think.

    ~A

  15. No tomato sauce?

    I’ve never heard of a diet nixing tomatoes…other than those for arthritics.

    Hmm.

    Anyhow, when you DO get around to making it, let me know what you think.

    ~A

  16. No tomato sauce?

    I’ve never heard of a diet nixing tomatoes…other than those for arthritics.

    Hmm.

    Anyhow, when you DO get around to making it, let me know what you think.

    ~A

    • It’s got a few too many steps to be something I’d make on a regular (read: weekly) basis, but it’s probably the best Lasagna I’ve ever had.

      Cheese-y and meaty without either the meat or cheese.

      Go! Make! Eat!

      ~Angela

  17. It’s got a few too many steps to be something I’d make on a regular (read: weekly) basis, but it’s probably the best Lasagna I’ve ever had.

    Cheese-y and meaty without either the meat or cheese.

    Go! Make! Eat!

    ~Angela

  18. It’s got a few too many steps to be something I’d make on a regular (read: weekly) basis, but it’s probably the best Lasagna I’ve ever had.

    Cheese-y and meaty without either the meat or cheese.

    Go! Make! Eat!

    ~Angela

  19. It’s got a few too many steps to be something I’d make on a regular (read: weekly) basis, but it’s probably the best Lasagna I’ve ever had.

    Cheese-y and meaty without either the meat or cheese.

    Go! Make! Eat!

    ~Angela

  20. It’s got a few too many steps to be something I’d make on a regular (read: weekly) basis, but it’s probably the best Lasagna I’ve ever had.

    Cheese-y and meaty without either the meat or cheese.

    Go! Make! Eat!

    ~Angela

Leave a Reply

